New to the game and have some questions.

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
DuncanNeeds2Shave
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:51 pm

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Post by DuncanNeeds2Shave » Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:09 am

While I'm at it, how about this... If I am playing with eleven full on hazard creatures (cave drake, assassin, etc), and I have ONE Nazgul, does that one Nazgul round up to count as the twelfth creature--the same way hobbits round up in company size, or is this not the case?

And this is going to sound weird, but if my hazard limit is three, and my opponent plays one hazard against me, is it correct to then say the hazard limit is now two? Or is it correct to say that the hazard limit remains three, and one hazard has been played?

User avatar
the Jabberwock
Council Chairman
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Post by the Jabberwock » Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:27 am

DuncanNeeds2Shave wrote:
Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:09 am
While I'm at it, how about this... If I am playing with eleven full on hazard creatures (cave drake, assassin, etc), and I have ONE Nazgul, does that one Nazgul round up to count as the twelfth creature--the same way hobbits round up in company size, or is this not the case?
No rounding up. If you have 11 normal hazard creatures, you would need 2 more that count as half to make the 12.
DuncanNeeds2Shave wrote:
Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:09 am
And this is going to sound weird, but if my hazard limit is three, and my opponent plays one hazard against me, is it correct to then say the hazard limit is now two? Or is it correct to say that the hazard limit remains three, and one hazard has been played?
The hazard limit (once set) remains the same, unless some effect changes it (eg. Power Built By Waiting). So you just keep track of how many hazards have been declared and compare that # to the hazard limit.

User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 382
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Post by CDavis7M » Mon Apr 15, 2019 8:07 pm

Is there any reason why My Precious and Lobelia S.B. have corruption modifiers as Hazard-only agents? I don't see any interactions with agent corruption.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2840
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Post by Bandobras Took » Tue Apr 16, 2019 12:21 am

My guess is they put it in there to hedge their bets if it ever came up.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

DuncanNeeds2Shave
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:51 pm

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Post by DuncanNeeds2Shave » Sun Jun 16, 2019 3:27 am

Can Many Sorrows Befall be used to cancel Twilight (when Twilight is played as a resource)?

User avatar
Theo
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Post by Theo » Sun Jun 16, 2019 5:41 am

Yes, assuming opponent plays Twilight as a resource during their own M/H phase and the hazard limit has not yet been reached.

Discussion of whether they can avoid this by playing as a hazard during their own M/H phase: https://councilofelrond.org/forum/viewt ... =16&t=3706
It is not our part here to take thought only for a season, or for a few lives of Men, or for a passing age of the world.
One family of busy dwarves with hammer and chisel might mar more than they make---or one online community. Cautious skill!

DuncanNeeds2Shave
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:51 pm

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Post by DuncanNeeds2Shave » Fri Jun 21, 2019 3:31 am

1. If my opponent is at an untapped Minas Tirith, he departs for Edoras, but I use Drowning Seas to bounce him back to Minas Tirith, is there any reason why he, during the site phase, may not attempt to play the faction Tower Guard of Minas Tirith since the site is untapped?

2. My company's hazard limit is 2. My opponent plays Fell Beast, followed by In Great Wrath. Is this a legal play since Fell Beast specifies that a Nazgul attack must be the first action in the ensuing chain of effects (while In Great Wrath triggers a Nazgul attack, it in and of itself is not a Nazgul attack)? When this occurred, I played a Many Turns and Doublings in conjunction with Gates of Morning to reduce my hazard limit to 1, thereby nullifying his In Great Wrath. In which case, Fell Beast is returned to his hand?

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2577
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Post by Konrad Klar » Fri Jun 21, 2019 7:57 am

(1)
CRF, Rrrata (Rules) wrote:If a company returns to its site of origin, it may do nothing during its site phase. A
company failing it's underdeeps movement roll is not affected by this rule.
(2)
This is not legal.

In Great Wrath potentially creates an immediate attack. As such it cannot be played in response.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

Vastor Peredhil
Council Member
Posts: 1026
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 10:46 am
Location: Kempen (Niederrhein) Germany

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Post by Vastor Peredhil » Fri Jun 21, 2019 8:27 am

the real question is how did you play Drowning Seas without a [-me_cs-] in the site path?

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2577
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Post by Konrad Klar » Fri Jun 21, 2019 9:19 am

CRF, Rulings by Term, Active Condtions wrote:If an "alternative" or "additional" effect does not have any "playable ..." conditions,
then the "playable on ..." conditions from the primary effect of the card apply. The
following cards are exceptions to this rule:
• Gloom
• Good Sense Revolts
• Half an Eye Open
• Heedless Revelry
• Here is a Snake
• In the Name of Mordor
• Inner Cunning
• Nobody's Friend
• Withdrawn to Mordor
• Wolf-riders
Vastor Peredhil wrote:
Fri Jun 21, 2019 8:27 am
the real question is how did you play Drowning Seas without a [-me_cs-] in the site path?
So no.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

DuncanNeeds2Shave
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:51 pm

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Post by DuncanNeeds2Shave » Fri Jun 21, 2019 3:45 pm

Konrad Klar, I appreciate your response, but your explanation of my second question is a bit muddy. Can you elaborate: what exactly isn't legal and why? Thanks.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2577
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Post by Konrad Klar » Fri Jun 21, 2019 11:58 pm

My bad.
If In Great Wrath has been played not in response to Fell Beast, but as first action of ensuing chain of effects, it is legal.
CRF, Errata (Cards), Fell Beast wrote:This card can be played and resolved before any Nazgûl is played with it. A Nazgûl
must be played as the first declared action in the chain of effects following the
resolution of Fell Beast, or else this card is returned to its player's hand. This card can
be played on an existing Nazgûl attack, but the extra playability this card provides
would not apply.
So then Fell Beast is returned to hand whether In Great Wrath resolves or not.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

DuncanNeeds2Shave
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:51 pm

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Post by DuncanNeeds2Shave » Sun Jun 23, 2019 5:12 am

Thank you... Here's some more!

1. While the effects of A Short Rest are contingent on the number of regions in a company's site path, and has an erratum to prevent misuse or unintended use by a player moving in the under-deeps, a similar card Washed And Refreshed, with effects also contingent on number of regions in a company's site path, has no such erratum to regulate when it can be used. If I play Washed and Refreshed during my organization phase on a company before it moves between two under-deeps sites, may I then untap up to four characters in that company, seeing as there is no erratum to prevent such a play? Or is there another rule that I'm missing.

2. Vein of Arda, like some other similar cards (the windlord found me), causes a character to tap when it is played, and that character "may not untap until Vein of Arda is stored at a haven." If I have Bilbo tap to play a Vein of Arda, may I use cards such as Hundreds of Butterflies, Hobbit Strength, or And Forth He Hastened if applicable to (unnaturally) untap Bilbo before he stores the Vein at a haven? If he may indeed be untapped in this way, if he subsequently taps again for some reason, does he still remain tapped until either of the two aforementioned possibilities occur (storing the Vein or using another card to untap him) or is the "does not untap" effect nullified?

3. Say I have Elrond and Thrain II in play under general influence (10+9 mind= 19 general influence), and Alatar in play at Rivendell with Thranduil (9 mind) as a follower. If Elrond and Thrain II are attacked by a hazard creature, and I use Alatar's teleport ability, does Thranduil get to come along for the ride and join up with Elrond and Thrain II or does he remain behind in Rivendell? Assuming he is left behind, I suddenly have an issue to clear up with general influence (a total of 10+9+9 mind=28 general influence). At what point must I reorganize my companies so that my general influence used does not exceed the maximum? Do I do it at the end of the phase during which the hazard creature attack occurred? Or the end of my turn? Or the end of my next organization phase? Or am I SOL and have to discard someone?

User avatar
Theo
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Post by Theo » Sun Jun 23, 2019 5:31 am

1) A company needs to have a site path to have something to compare for Washed and Refreshed. MEDM: "A company moving to and/or from an Under-deeps site has no site path."

2) CRF: "Nothing may untap a character who is the subject of an effect that states the character may not untap."

3) Exceeded GI must only be reconciled at the end of your Organization phases. Furthermore, Thranduil is considered to not use GI until your next Org phase anyway. CRF: "A character removed from the control of direct influence outside the organization phase does not need to be controlled by general influence until that player's next organization phase."
It is not our part here to take thought only for a season, or for a few lives of Men, or for a passing age of the world.
One family of busy dwarves with hammer and chisel might mar more than they make---or one online community. Cautious skill!

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2577
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: New to the game and have some questions.

Post by Konrad Klar » Sun Jun 23, 2019 6:47 am

Theo wrote:
Sun Jun 23, 2019 5:31 am
1) A company needs to have a site path to have something to compare for Washed and Refreshed. MEDM: "A company moving to and/or from an Under-deeps site has no site path."
I would say that a company needs some number of regions in its site path. Mere site path (like that created by Forod) is not sufficient.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”