Where There's A Whip

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Theo
Posts: 665
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Where There's A Whip

Post by Theo » Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:28 am

Where There's a Whip wrote:Resource: Short-event
Playable on an untapped Orc or Troll character bearing a Whip. Each tapped character in the bearer's company with a mind and prowess less than the bearer's makes a body check modified by -2. Failing the body check wounds, but does not eliminate the character. Each unwounded character in the company becomes untapped.
Underlined portion is somewhat ambiguous.
1) Are we comparing the two character's minds and the two characters prowesses and looking for both to be less?
2) Are we comparing the sum of the mind and prowess for each character?

The single "a" article makes me think (2), but I could see someone arguing it is implied for prowess. Is this contentious?
It is not our part here to take thought only for a season, or for a few lives of Men, or for a passing age of the world.
One [online community] with hammer and chisel might mar more than they make... Cautious skill!
Double Standards.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2961
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Where There's A Whip

Post by Bandobras Took » Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:49 pm

I believe (1) is the intent. As you noted, the language can be read both ways. I would expect them to mention "sum of" or "total" if they had meant to add the two values for comparison.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”