Creatures keyed to specific regions by name and starter movement

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Bob654
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 2:02 pm

If I have a company using starter movement, can my opponent play a creature keyed to a specific region in between?
The specific situation I'm looking at is moving from Rivendell to Lorien using starter movement, and whether or not a Cave Worm can be played keyed to High Pass.

I could've sworn I read somewhere that you couldn't in the last few days, but I can't seem to find it again...
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Bob654 wrote: Mon May 18, 2020 3:46 am The specific situation I'm looking at is moving from Rivendell to Lorien using starter movement, and whether or not a Cave Worm can be played keyed to High Pass.
Cave Worm cannot be keyed to High Pass.
The company moving from Rivendell to Lorien using starter movement is not considered moving through High Pass.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 2816
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Just look at the cards in play. Rivendell and Lorien don't say High Pass as their region. And you haven't played a region card named High Pass since you are using Starter Movement. So creatures can't be keyed to High Pass.

Meanwhile, The Great Goblin can specifically be played on such a company because its card text says so.
Bob654
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 2:02 pm

Got it. To clarify, but you could key a creature to a region named on either site card (the one the company is leaving and the one they are going to) during starter movement though right?
And you're always allowed to opt for starter movement right?
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Creatures may be keyed to Rhudaur or Wold & Foothhils.
Balrog and Fallen Wizard players cannot use starter movement. Player must decide prior moving its company whether it will use starter or region movement. He cannot change this decision later.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”