There is no problem here. As stated on page 2, The Balrog needs to play a resource to move starter movement or region movement, which is more restrictive than movement "from a Darkhaven to a non-Darkhaven site" as in MELE.
The collection of movements to non-Darkhaven sites far exceeds the collection of movements done with just starter or region movement, so how can the requirement to be in a mode (or use some sort of resource to move with starter/region) be more restrictive?
The list of mode cards is not meant to be exhaustive, just explanative.
Sure, but none of the Balrog fána cards (nor any other resource) allow The Balrog to specifically move (from a Darkhaven) to a non-Darkhaven site, like the RW mode cards do. Without that first movement, he could not get anywhere.
The Starter rules are not repeated in the Standard rules because the Standard rules are merely "additions and extensions to the Starter Rules." (MELE p.4).
Of course. The main issue/question was if the restrictions on p.25 are considered Ringwraith "special rules" (as per MEBA p.2). If these "special rules" do not
overlap with the "Ringwraith effects" (p.59, or 19 MEBA), then "any card and rules text applying to a Ringwraith also applies to The Balrog" seems misleading.
Also, strangely enough:
- other RW effects (testing a ring at -2, carry but not use items, etc.) are repeated in the standard rules, but they are not additions or extensions...
- p.59 states: This is a summary of the special effects of the Ringwraith character
Now, summaries might not be exhaustive or conclusive, but the fact that "a RW may not move with region movement" is specifically mentioned, while other movement restrictions are not important enough to mention in the summary...let's put it down to oversight then.
nb. the underlined section "or wherever else these rules may appear"
is from the MEBA rules at meccg.net. I was not aware they changed the actual rules or rephrased them without apparent reason, since the CRF is also on that website. As stated in the OP, I was aware of the change, but assumed there was a ruling to back that up.
nb. one does not always need FULL quotation Chris, it does not make the thread more readable if we all post full quotations or images. I do not believe I left out any relevant parts. The section on p.19 MEBA does not add anything to that on p.59 MELE.
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.