Forewarned means Forearmed

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
User avatar
Mordakai
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:38 am

Forewarned means Forearmed

Post by Mordakai »

Maybe this is a stupid question, but I'm not 100% certain about this one: This card is a Hero Resource. Will it affect a minion player if the opponent plays it?
C'mon, not the Elves of Lindon AGAIN...
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3671
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Forewarned means Forearmed

Post by Konrad Klar »

If by "Forewarned means Forearmed" you mean "Forewarned Is Forearmed":

It does not affect minion players.
It does not affect hero players too.
It affects hazards, and attacks from affected hazards, non-minion sites, and attacks at affected sites.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Mordakai
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:38 am

Re: Forewarned means Forearmed

Post by Mordakai »

Konrad Klar wrote:If by "Forewarned means Forearmed" you mean "Forewarned Is Forearmed":

It does not affect minion players.
It does not affect hero players too.
It affects hazards, and attacks from affected hazards, non-minion sites, and attacks at affected sites.
I was writting without the card on my sight, so "Forewarned means Forearmed" absolutely means "Forewarned Is Forearmed"

The answer I was looking for is It affects hazards, and attacks from affected hazards, non-minion sites, and attacks at affected sites, so I understand that, as minion player, an Assasin played against one of my companies will still be reduced to only one attack, but if I'm trying to enter an Under-deeps site (minion or Balrog alignment), I'll still have to face all auto attacks there. Correct?
C'mon, not the Elves of Lindon AGAIN...
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3671
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Forewarned means Forearmed

Post by Konrad Klar »

If the Under-Deeps site is minion version then it will not be "reduced to having one automatic-attack of the hazard player's choice".

By rule:
CRF, Rulings by Term, Site wrote:Hero events cannot target or affect minion sites, and vice versa. News of the Shire is
an exception.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2995
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Forewarned means Forearmed

Post by Bandobras Took »

Is targeting/affecting automatic attacks at a site the same as targeting/affecting the site?
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3671
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Forewarned means Forearmed

Post by Konrad Klar »

No. It is not the same.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2995
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Forewarned means Forearmed

Post by Bandobras Took »

Thanks; was trying to work out some logic in my mind. :)
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)
User avatar
the JabberwocK
Council Chairman
Posts: 1156
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Re: Forewarned means Forearmed

Post by the JabberwocK »

FOREWARNED IS FOREARMED ‐ Permanent‐event (C)
Any non‐Dragon Lair site with more than one automatic‐attack is reduced to having one automatic‐attack of the hazard playerʹs choice. Any creature or other hazard with more than one attack is reduced to one attack of the hazard playerʹs choice. Discard when such an isolated attack is defeated. Cannot be duplicated.
If you defeat a hazard creature affected by this card (ie. Assassin, Slayer), do you receive the 2 kill MPs? I know that if any single attack is cancelled, you don't receive kill points. In this case, the additional attacks are reduced, not cancelled. Thanks
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3671
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Forewarned means Forearmed

Post by Konrad Klar »

Forewarned is Forearmed wrote:[...]Discard when such an isolated attack is defeated.[...]
the Jabberwock wrote: Sat Mar 24, 2018 4:43 pm In this case, the additional attacks are reduced, not cancelled.
Just that.
Further it only depends on whether a player is able to receive MP for defeating creatures without asterisk.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
the JabberwocK
Council Chairman
Posts: 1156
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Re: Forewarned means Forearmed

Post by the JabberwocK »

Right, but assuming the player can receive the MPs (ie. Hero company facing an Assassin), the player would get the 2 MPs for only defeating the single attack.

Just wanted to confirm. Thanks
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3671
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Forewarned means Forearmed

Post by Konrad Klar »

If a creature does not have a more (for any reasons), there is nothing more to face (and bother about).
Similarly, if a number of strikes of an attack has been reduced, there is no need (nor possibility) to deal with not existing now strikes.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3671
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Forewarned means Forearmed

Post by Konrad Klar »

If to compare reduction of strikes with reduction of attacks:
Rules forbid a changing a number of strikes once they assigned. There is no comparable rule that would regulate a reducing of a number of attacks.
It is no defined what happens when Forewarned is Forearmed is played after facing non-last attack from creature with multiple attacks.
Does a reduction happen at all? Is the reduction limited to attacks not ended yet?

Maybe the problem has been overlooked by ICE, because unlike a changing a number a strikes, an effects that allow changing a number of attacks are rare (one case that I know - just Forewarned is Forearmed).
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2995
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Forewarned means Forearmed

Post by Bandobras Took »

I would look at the number of attacks a creature currently has.

After facing the first attack from an Assassin, it has two attacks left. Forewarned would still affect it.

After facing two attacks from an Assassin, it has only one attack left. Forewarned would not affect it if played at that time.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)
User avatar
Theo
Posts: 1173
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Re: Forewarned means Forearmed

Post by Theo »

Konrad Klar wrote: Sun Mar 25, 2018 10:20 am It is no defined what happens when Forewarned is Forearmed is played after facing non-last attack from creature with multiple attacks.
Does a reduction happen at all? Is the reduction limited to attacks not ended yet?

Maybe the problem has been overlooked by ICE, because unlike a changing a number a strikes, an effects that allow changing a number of attacks are rare (one case that I know - just Forewarned is Forearmed).
ICE Rules Digest 516 wrote:<<Can you play forwarded is forarmed after taking the first attack of an
assassin?>>

No. Here is a ruling on Forewarned Is Forearmed. May not be played after
any strike of attacks it affects are assigned.
It is not our part here to take thought only for a season, or for a few lives of Men, or for a passing age of the world.
One [online community] with hammer and chisel might mar more than they make... Cautious skill!
User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 2285
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: Forewarned means Forearmed

Post by CDavis7M »

It's worth nothing that Van backtracked but never provided an update. It's also worth noting that Ichabod did the exact same thing. However, simply by reading the card text it will be clear that the reduction effect of Forewarned is Forearmed does not work when played after the first attack of the creature because the reduction is dependent on the Hazard Player's choice and they will obviously not choose the already defeated attack.

"Any creature or other hazard with more than one attack is reduced to one attack of the hazard player's choice (this attack cannot be canceled)."

Here is the situation, the Resource Player is trying to play Forewarned if Forearmed after defeating the first attack so that they can receive the MP. But the Hazard Player will definitely not choose for the creature to be reduced to the defeated attack, they will choose one of the attacks that has not yet been faced. But in that case the creature can not be "reduced to one attack" because it will be reduced to at least 2 attacks, the one that was faced and the one chosen by the Hazard Player. The effect of Forewarned is Forearmed does not work in this situation. But it can still be played in the play area.

----------
From: ich...@spamblock.cstone.net (Craig Ichabod O'Brien)
Subject: [MECCG] Rules Digest 117
Date: 1998/08/07
> - Can i play "Forewarned is forearmed" in response to a
Slayer/Assasin/Nameles
>thing/etc... ?
Yes.
> - If so, can i play it between it's attacks ?
Well, I'm not sure there is time between attacks to play the card, but
you could play it before the strikes of the second attack are declared.
From: ich...@spamblock.cstone.net (Craig Ichabod O'Brien)
Subject: [MECCG] Rules Digest 118
Date: 1998/08/10
>So I presume if Forewarned is Forearmed is
>played after the first Assassin attack, that the remaining two attacks are
>removed (or would only one of the remaining attacks be removed and the
>other become uncancellable? ) and if the first attack was defeated the
>Assassin would go into the defender's MP pile (if Hero/FW), right?
I'm going to hold off on answering this question. There are issues
coming up here that I need to discuss with the series editor
.
From: Gnome <7633...@CompuServe.COM>
Subject: [MECCG] Rules Digest #510
Date: 1998/09/30
>From: Eric Silverman <sil...@saber.towson.edu>
>Subject: VAN: Assassin question
>If I want to play forewarned is forearmed VS an assassin do I have to play
>it before the strikes are assigned or can I wait until he has assigned the
>strikes?
Assassin is a special case in a lot of ways, however, you would
play Forewarned bofore the target is chosen. Since Forewarned
affects the attack, not the strike, it must be played prior to
the assignment of strikes.
>>From: Eric Silverman <sil...@saber.towson.edu>
>>Subject: VAN: Assassin question
>>
>>If I want to play forewarned is forearmed VS an assassin do I have to play
>>it before the strikes are assigned or can I wait until he has assigned the
>>strikes?
>
>Assassin is a special case in a lot of ways, however, you would
>play Forewarned bofore the target is chosen. Since Forewarned
>affects the attack, not the strike, it must be played prior to
>the assignment of strikes.
>////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
>
>What rule would stop *Forewarned is Forearmed* from being played after
>the first Assassin attack is resolved, but before the strike of the second
>attack is formally "assigned", thus stopping the second and third attacks
>by reducing them away since one had already been faced?
>
>Or would FiF not "remember" the first attack (since it was not yet in play)
>and just reduce the remaining two attacks to one?
Martin, Assassin is such an odd case that I want to do some research before
answering this one. Hang on to that thought
.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”