A few random rule questions

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Anth
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 9:11 pm

A few random rule questions

Post by Anth »

Can you tap a character to use an item, if that character is not in the company currently moving during the movement hazard phase? That is, the character is untapped and able to use the item, but he is in a different company. Similarly to how you use marvels told by a sage not in that current company.


Alone and unadvised, does it count the character himself in adding the number of characters in the company when corruption checks are made? So if it's just one character with alone and unadvised on him and one other character in the company, do you modify the roll by 1 or by 2?


Is crown of flowers a way to preserve an event out for longer? For example star of high hope. Or does crown of flowers used with star of high hope discarded at the next long event phase when normally star of high hope would be discarded? It's powerful if it keeps it out, otherwise it's a very weak card it seems to me.

How does crown of flowers work with short events? Or are they not able to be used with it?
User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 2364
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: A few random rule questions

Post by CDavis7M »

Anth wrote: Wed Dec 08, 2021 7:31 am Can you tap a character to use an item, if that character is not in the company currently moving during the movement hazard phase? That is, the character is untapped and able to use the item, but he is in a different company. Similarly to how you use marvels told by a sage not in that current company.
It helps to mention the specific card in case there is anything else at issue. But as far as the rules, there is no rule that restricts how resources (cards or effects of items in play, etc.) are used based on which company is taking their M/H phase. Most items are limited to being helpful for a specific company. Some items do not mention the "company" specifically but there is also a clarification to the rules in the CRF: "In order to cancel an attack or to directly affect an attack, the character doing so must be in the company facing the attack. Note that the region/site type a hazard creature was keyed to can be affected otherwise." So this is a restriction on Star-glass, etc.
Anth wrote: Wed Dec 08, 2021 7:31 am Alone and unadvised, does it count the character himself in adding the number of characters in the company when corruption checks are made? So if it's just one character with alone and unadvised on him and one other character in the company, do you modify the roll by 1 or by 2?
The character with AaU is in his own company. If there are 2 character as you ask, then you give +2.
Anth wrote: Wed Dec 08, 2021 7:31 am Is crown of flowers a way to preserve an event out for longer? For example star of high hope. Or does crown of flowers used with star of high hope discarded at the next long event phase when normally star of high hope would be discarded? It's powerful if it keeps it out, otherwise it's a very weak card it seems to me.

How does crown of flowers work with short events? Or are they not able to be used with it?
There is another card called "Echo of All Joys" that prolongs long-events. Crown of Flowers does not prolong events. The idea behind Crown of Flowers is that you can have a Doors of Night style hazard section while still being able to play cards that rely on Gates of Morning. For instance, you can have Doors boosting the effects of hazards while your Star of High Hope boosts your characters to offset Doors.

I don't think there is any issue with Crown of Flowers and short-events. The only issue is that the card must be "played with" Crown of Flowers. So it cannot "target" or be "played with" some other card. Some people thought that they could play Fireworks with Crown of Flowers and then use Twilight to cancel Crown and remove Fireworks. This doesn't work because Crown of Flowers is first played in the play area and then Fireworks is played on/with a Sage -- so there is no possibility of Fireworks being played with Crown of Flowers, which is not with the Sage. This means that Crown doesn't work with Fifteen Birds or The Sun Unveiled, but it would work with other Gates-based short events.
Anth
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 9:11 pm

Re: A few random rule questions

Post by Anth »

Very helpful thank you!
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”