Nenya

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3773
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Nenya

Post by Konrad Klar »

CDavis7M wrote: Fri Jul 29, 2022 6:03 pm However, for Marvels Told there is no active condition for playing the card.
Thanks.
I do not see an inconsistency in your understanding of Active Conditions, even if my is different.

However:
Annotation 8: An action that requires a target is considered to have the active condition that the target be in play when the action is declared.
so if event to discard is not active condition of Marvels Told, why it would not be chosen when the Marvels Told resolves?
CDavis7M wrote: Fri Jul 29, 2022 6:03 pm Praise to Elbereth cancels events, yes. But tapping Adunaphel results in Adunaphel becoming a short-event, which is an event and can be canceled by Praise to Elbereth.
Is becoming a short-event, that is declared. And as you said "There's no resource that is as generally powerful as Many Sorrows Befall." (maybe beside Twilight played as resource).
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 2425
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: Nenya

Post by CDavis7M »

Konrad Klar wrote: Fri Jul 29, 2022 9:17 pm
Annotation 8: An action that requires a target is considered to have the active condition that the target be in play when the action is declared.
so if event to discard is not active condition of Marvels Told, why it would not be chosen when the Marvels Told resolves?
The event to-be-discarded is not an active condition of the action of playing Marvels Told (moving the card from your hand to the play area and resolving it in a chain of effects). The event to be discarded is a target of the discard-action, which is one of the effects of Marvels Told. The action of playing a card is different from any actions (card moving, dice rolling, etc) that are the effects of that card. Moving Marvels Told from your hand to the play area, discarding the hazard event, and rolling dice are each separate actions and Annotation 8 applies to these actions separately.

----------
Konrad Klar wrote: Fri Jul 29, 2022 9:17 pm
CDavis7M wrote: Fri Jul 29, 2022 6:03 pm Praise to Elbereth cancels events, yes. But tapping Adunaphel results in Adunaphel becoming a short-event, which is an event and can be canceled by Praise to Elbereth.
Is becoming a short-event, that is declared.
Yes, tapping as an active condition also immediately declares Adunaphel (etc) as a short-event at the same game-time as the tapping. Becoming a short-event is an active condition.

----------

Back to wizard spells, the playing them without an attack (or whatever) but causing a corruption check meets the requirements of "Legal Play of Cards" because dice are rolled. And the point of the Legal Play rule is so that a player cannot just discard a card. The original rule before Legal Play was simply that the card must apply to an existing situation and maybe not be played just to be discarded. I was thinking that Legal Play was more specific than it is. It defines that "a card may only be played if..." not "a card may be played if..."

So I think the "existing situation" rule would apply to wizard spells, and marvels, and everything: "Unless stated otherwise, a card is playable only if its effect applies to an existing situation, hazard, attack, etc. (i.e., you may not play a card just to discard it). A card cannot be played for no effect."
may be played if it has a potential effect.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3773
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Nenya

Post by Konrad Klar »

Small update.
Konrad Klar wrote: Fri Jul 29, 2022 2:44 pm This works because none of the characters chosen to tap is target. Otherwise removing any of them before resolution would fizzle Praise to Elbereth.
And even if they would be the targets. Player may opt to not choose any of them at declaration.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”