Dark Tryst and cancellers

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Darksatin
Posts: 628
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 6:14 pm
Location: Chalon sur Saône, France

My minion company, containing a ranger, is attacked by a cave-drake.
I do not have a Crept Along Cleverly in my hand, but I know there are several in my deck.
At this point, can I play a Dark Tryst to draw 3 cards and hope to get a Crept Along Cleverly , and then play it to cancel the attack?
Or is it already too late?
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4370
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Not too late.
There is a time for multiple chains of effects before strikes are assigned.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
SuperNovice
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2023 9:54 pm

This does raise a question that I'm not clear on. Can you interrupt the resolution of a chain of events? You can't interrupt a card but consider the following:

Hazard player (HP): Play Cave-drake
Resource player (RP): Responds with Gates of Morning
HP: Plays Twilight, targeting the Gates of Morning
RP: Plays Dark Tryst
Neither play responds and chain of events begins to resolve.
RP resolves Dark Tryst and draws his three cards.

One of the cards he drew is a Twilight, can he respond by playing Twilight, targeting the Twilight that is yet to resolve? Effectively, he resolves the first card in the chain then interrupts resolution to respond to a card not yet resolved?

I believe that is legal but I'm having trouble finding anything that confirms that.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4370
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

One thing I know that may interrupt a resolving chain of effects is a returning a company to its site of origin; this interrupts whole M/H phase of the company.
If there is a possibility to declare something in middle of a resolving chain of effects, it is because there is inner chain of effect in middle of the resolving.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”