A New Ringlord

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4489
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Playable on your Fallen-wizard if he has The One Ring at one of your Wizardhavens [W]. Only one A New Ringlord may be played in a given turn. Make a roll during each of your end-of-turn phases if your Fallen-wizard is bearing The One Ring and is at a Ruins & Lairs [R] where information is playable. Add 1 for each A New Ringlord you have in play. If the result is less than 6, your Fallen-wizard is eliminated. If the result is greater than 9, you win the game.
'Make a roll during each of your end-of-turn phases if your Fallen-wizard is bearing The One Ring and is at a Ruins & Lairs [R] where information is playable."

Seems like action coused by passive condition. This could mean that roll is made for each copy of A New Ringlord.

Any thoughts?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Being one of the few people I know who actually has dunked with a FW, this explains why Blind to the West can stop ring tests -- if you roll twice for two New Ringlords, that's pretty darn good.
melkor_morgoth75
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:22 am
Location: ITALY - Milan
Contact:

SO .... do u roll twice? I'm using a FW saruman A New Ringlore deck who wins (in theory) at turn 5-6 ... this could be very helpful ...

mm75
"In front of such powers and strengths, it seems a very little thing the story of some common humans, but really some of them were able to change and fight this world's fate".
(taken from "Shara") Marco Fregonari
Earendil
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:01 am
Location: Como, Italy
Contact:

Konrad Klar wrote: 'Make a roll during each of your end-of-turn phases if your Fallen-wizard is bearing The One Ring and is at a Ruins & Lairs [R] where information is playable."

Seems like action coused by passive condition. This could mean that roll is made for each copy of A New Ringlord.

Any thoughts?

I think you're right.
"...And he said that if I had the cheek to make verses about Earendil in the house of Elrond, it was my affair. I suppose he was right"
melkor_morgoth75
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:22 am
Location: ITALY - Milan
Contact:

Earendil wrote: I think you're right.
U're spying on me Sergio ... i see you ... yeah, but u won't catch me for the Italian champ :twisted: :D :D :D :wink: :wink: :wink:

mm75
"In front of such powers and strengths, it seems a very little thing the story of some common humans, but really some of them were able to change and fight this world's fate".
(taken from "Shara") Marco Fregonari
User avatar
Shapeshifter
Ex Council Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

The same question arouse in my recent A New Ringlord game. Are there any opposing opinions?
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4489
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Konrad Klar wrote: Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:55 am Seems like action coused by passive condition. This could mean that roll is made for each copy of A New Ringlord.
It does not sound like action caused by passive condition now for me.
Mandatory action, but there is no passive condition. Player has almost whole phase for postponing the action. The same for The Ring Will Have But One Master.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 2816
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Right, there is no passive condition.

-----

I wonder what the reasoning is for being able to roll twice. 2 = 2?
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4489
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

CDavis7M wrote: Thu Mar 23, 2023 6:13 am I wonder what the reasoning is for being able to roll twice. 2 = 2?
Strictly speaking: none.
Two cards. Each forces a making a roll.
Not ability, but obligation.
That may be welcome anyway.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 2816
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Konrad Klar wrote: Thu Mar 23, 2023 6:36 am Two cards. Each forces a making a roll.
Yes, the player is required to make a roll. I see the requirement.

Two copies of the same card have the same requirement.

But why would they roll twice?
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4489
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Once for each card (that enforces the roll).
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 2816
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

I guess that's what I suspected was the rationale: 2 cards = 2 rolls.

It's not persuasive.
Uwe
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 7:41 am

Hi,same for Challenge the Power.Make a roll for each sage in the company and for each other ChtP in play.If you have 3 of them I roll 3x.Outcome of the roll the card can be discarded,go to the MP pile of effects the Hog.Uwe
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4489
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Balrog specific. Playable on The Balrog if he bears The One Ring. Make a roll adding one for each sage in his company and for each other Challenge the Power in play. If the result is: less than 7, The Balrog is eliminated; 7 or 8, discard this card; 9 or 10, you gain 2 marshalling points and The One Ring affects The Balrog; greater than 10, you win the game. Cannot be duplicated on a given turn.
Not the same. The roll from Challenge the Power is an action performed when the card is resolved; one time action. It is not an action activated later. You may have three Challenge the Power on Balrog and not win the game.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Uwe
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 7:41 am

Hi,oh so i roll once and add the number of sages and ChtP i have in play?
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”