Whose is this Stage Point (Gnawed Ways as a hazard)?

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Gnawed Ways wrote:Playable on one of your Deep Mines sites. The Deep Mines site is now adjacent to an Under-deeps site of your choice whose surface site is in a region containing or adjacent to the region containing the Deep Mines surface site. The movement number required to move between these two Under-deeps sites is (7). This card may also be played as a hazard on one of your opponent's Deep Mines sites. Discard this card when Deep Mines is discarded or returned to its location deck. Cannot be duplicated on a given Deep Mines site.
As in title. Some hazards played on Fallen wizard gives him Stage Points as indicated on the hazard card's text. Gnawed Ways is not played on FW and SP symbol is only printed on left border, but not mentioned in the card's text. So how is in this case?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

I would say that since it can be played as a hazard, it can be included in the hazard portion of any deck.

Therefore, the stage point would go to the owner of the site on which it is played. Otherwise, we would have non-FWs gaining Stage Points.
jaded
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:47 am
Location: Poland

There is no rule even suggesting it. In my opinion it doesn't give the SP anyone.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

However, there are several hazards which give stage points to the FW of the opposing player. Gnawed Ways when used as a hazard would fall into the same category of these other cards.
jaded
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:47 am
Location: Poland

No, because as Konrad mentioned they all give the SP by the card text
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

METW Rules wrote:Clarification: For emphasis, a value used during play is often provided both in a card's text and in another place on the same card. For example, a character's corruption check modification is stated both in the text and the lower right corner of the character's card.
Bolds mine.

Often does not mean always.

Gnawed Ways has the exact same icon in the exact same place as the two other hazards which give stage points. With both of those two hazards, text is necessary: in one case, the stage point amount is variable, and in the other, there is a possibility of not receiving the stage points. No such text is necessary with Gnawed Ways because the 1 Stage Point simply applies -- there are no special conditions for it.
jaded
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:47 am
Location: Poland

Was it necessary in inner rot?
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Sure. Inner Rot can be played on Wizards and Fallen wizards. The text specifies that the Stage Points only apply to Fallen wizards.
jaded
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:47 am
Location: Poland

I see you truly conviced yourself :)
To me the hazards have texts to clear up whose these poins are (not the owner of the card).
Another thing worries me: can this card be included by other player than FW?
MEWH introduces a new type of resource card called a stage resource card. Such a card is actually a “Fallen-wizard- only resource card”-only Fallen-wizard players may include them in their decks. Stage resources have a green-colored (i.e., tarnished copper) background. Most stage resource cards give stage points.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Lidless Eye wrote:Only Ringwraith players may include minion characters, resources, and sites in their decks, while only Wizard players may include hero characters, resources, and sites in their decks.
That is not issue in case of Wild Hounds in RW player's deck or Tidings of Death in wizard's deck.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Cards which can be used as resources or hazards can be used as either in deck construction.
jaded
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:47 am
Location: Poland

Oh, so "only Fallen-wizard players may include them in their decks" means nothing, have to remember that.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

MEWH introduces a new type of resource card called a stage resource card. Such a card is actually a “Fallen-wizard-only resource card”-only Fallen-wizard players may include them in their decks.
Gnawed Ways may be played as a hazard per the card text and so may be included as a hazard in deck construction. Let me know if you find anything in those rules that says a non-FW player can't use hazards in deck construction. :)
jaded
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:47 am
Location: Poland

It just seem to me as more specific rule than
Cards that can be played as either hazards or resources may count as either for purposes of deck construction.

but I may be wrong in this one.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Minion events cannot be included in hero deck. There is no exception for this rule (minion/hero items in hero/minion deck are such exception - to the rule that forbid including resources in deck of opposite alignment).
So when Tidings of Death may be played as hero resource?
Please note that this card was issued before White Hand - so before introduction of concept of deck that can contain both hero and minion resource.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”