Men of Lamedon and Stone of Erech

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
fantomas
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 10:22 am

Hi again

Another rules-question I can't seem to find:

If it is thus, that Men of Lamedon, as a faction, taps Vale of Erech when played, and a tapped site is discarded when left, that means that Stone of Erech MUST be played together with the faction, or else when the playdeck has been exhausted?

That is by far the longest sentence I've written this weekend.

Thanks :)
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Unique. Playable at the Vale of Erech and if the Men of Lamedon are already in play. Discard if the Men of Lamedon leave play.
Yes, that is in essence correct. However, there are some methods for keeping a tapped site in play (such as leaving a character there, No Strangers At This Time), so with a little planning you shouldn't have to discard Vale of Erech.
fantomas
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 10:22 am

Allright. Thanks for the tips :)

I will probably post more direct questions concerning rules I don't find and specific situations.
Olorin
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:01 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Don't the rules state that playing a card at a site requires tapping the site? We always assumed you had to go BACK to Vale of Erech after exhausting your deck, or in another way untap the site. How does this card avoid this?
Alter Tuk
Ex Council Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:20 pm
Location: Germany

Olorin wrote:Don't the rules state that playing a card at a site requires tapping the site?
There is no rule that says that playing a permanent event generally requires to tap the site.
[url=http://gccg.sourceforge.net/]Come to GCCG or die a lonely death.[/url]
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

The official rule from the MELE turn sequence:
Certain resource cards other than items, allies, and factions are playable during the site phase and state the conditions under which they may be played. Such a card only requires an untapped site if it states that the site taps when played.
fantomas
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 10:22 am

Bandobras Took wrote:The official rule from the MELE turn sequence:
Certain resource cards other than items, allies, and factions are playable during the site phase and state the conditions under which they may be played. Such a card only requires an untapped site if it states that the site taps when played.
Aha.. So that means a company can go back to a tapped site even though it's been discarded as long as the card played there doesn't tap the site?
Vastor Peredhil
Ex Council Member
Posts: 1351
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 10:46 am
Location: Kempen (Niederrhein) Germany

No, tapped left sites go to the discard pile:

the key is:

No Stranger at this Time:
MP: 1 miscellaneous
Description: Playable during the site phase on a Free-hold [F] or Border-hold if you have played a faction there. This site is never discarded and never untaps for you. All detainment attacks at all versions of this site against minion companies instead attack normally. Against minion companies, each version of this site has an additional automatic-attack: an exact copy including all modifications of the first automatic-attack listed on its card. Cannot be duplicated on a given site.


mfg Nicolai
fantomas
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 10:22 am

Allright then... Thought so :)
User avatar
Khamul the Easterling
Ex Council Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:16 pm
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Can I play Stone of Erech if my opponent has Men of Lamedon in play? I think so.

The card text of SoE reads:
Playable at the Vale of Erech and if the Men of Lamedon are already in play.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

It is even explicitly allowed.
CRF, Rulings by Term, Active Conditions wrote:Your opponent's resources may be the active conditions for your resources, but may
not be the targets for your resources.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”