What cards fall under the scope of The Hunt?
If he's seen it I have to go get it, yes? Is there any precedence? If I know there is one in Playdeck, Discard Pile, and in my hand can I pick which to get? Further, is the side-board in play for this? What of cards in play as permanent events, which only effects cards playable also as a creature correct? (You can't play iThe Hunt on a dragon Ahunt or At Home, correct?), or under the unfluence of permanent events, i.e. Summons From a Long Sleep? Or out of play through a similar mechanism to Great Secrets Buried There (is there such a card)? Or removed from play through Aware of your Ways?
On-guard is irrelevant because The Hutn is only org phase playable yes?
What of eliminated from play cards, such as creatures he's already killed? If he's killed one already (and I have another) is it a creature 'previously revealed', or is the dead version the only previously revealed creature?
Lastly, if it is permissible to declare a hunt of a non-unique creature, and all the copies in question are not applicable targets, The Hunt just plain fizzles, correct?
Thanks,
Andy
The Hunt and your opponents Sideboard
Hi Olorin,
Im sorry, dont have the time atm to answer your questions, but if you add a quote of the card requested that would help a lot. If you need an excel file with all cards and texts let me know.
Im sorry, dont have the time atm to answer your questions, but if you add a quote of the card requested that would help a lot. If you need an excel file with all cards and texts let me know.
The Hunt
Playable on Alatar during the organization phase. Name a specific hazard creature card your opponent revealed to you through a mechanism of the game and discarded. Unless eliminated or prevented from being in play, your opponent then finds this particular card (reshuffling his play deck if searched). This creature immediately attacks Alatar as though he were a one-character company. Alatar cannot use or benefit from spells against the attack. If untapped, tap Alatar afterwards.
[url=http://gccg.sourceforge.net/]Come to GCCG or die a lonely death.[/url]
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
It must be revealed to you and discarded, so if you see certain creature as effect of Secret News (for example) it is not enough for calling that creature for purpose of The Hunt.If he's seen it I have to go get it, yes?
There is no priority of searching for creature.Is there any precedence? If I know there is one in Playdeck, Discard Pile, and in my hand can I pick which to get?
Creature may be taken from sideboard.Further, is the side-board in play for this?
I'm not quite sure that I understand your question correctly, anyway...What of cards in play as permanent events, which only effects cards playable also as a creature correct?
It does not matter how creature was played, as creature, permanent-event, or something else. It even does not matter whether card was played or not. It need be only revealed to you (player that plays The Hunt) and discarded.
Generally cards in discard pile do not remember how they was played.
Rule of uniqueness must be respected. You cannot call of creature, if its copy (or manifestation) is in play (as permanent-event, or in other form or is eliminated).
Correct. Ahunts only creates the hazard creature attack. They are not creatures.You can't play iThe Hunt on a dragon Ahunt or At Home, correct?
There are a lot of cards and other methods that allow for moving card between playdeck, discard pile, hand and sideboard. There is no reliable method of tracking this process.What of eliminated from play cards, such as creatures he's already killed? If he's killed one already (and I have another) is it a creature 'previously revealed', or is the dead version the only previously revealed creature?
So if creature is not unique, for purpose of The Hunt it may be any copy of revealed (and discarded) creature card.
If player is unable to find called creature card, there is no attack, of course.Lastly, if it is permissible to declare a hunt of a non-unique creature, and all the copies in question are not applicable targets, The Hunt just plain fizzles, correct?
BTW. Strictly (technically) speaking: creatures are not targets of The Hunt. Fizzling is situation, when card was declared, but cannot be resolved for any reason. In case of The Hunt it would happen in result of other action declared in response to The Hunt, that would remove Alatar from play (e.g. Marvels Told can eliminate Alatar as result of failed corruption checks).
Very untypical scenario (but possible).
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
OK, for clarification: (I refer to the opponent playing The Hunt):
He cannot call a Nazgul either of us have in play as a permanent event, even if I have previously discarded the very same Nazgul earlier in the game?
When you say I may get a creature from my sideboard, you mean of course that if it is the only place such a creature exists, I MUST get it from my sideboard. (I cannot 'hide' something from being hunted by moving it into my sideboard...)
It seems quite picky, but if he discovered it through Secret News, and because he knows there is at least one in my discard pile from Aware of Your Ways, he can name it, correct? This is true even if he removes the copy in the discard pile using the Aware?
To summarize, if he has seen a hazard creature card in my deck for any reason, AND he is certain a copy of such has at any point hit my discard pile, it is eligible to be 'hunted'. If named by The Hunt, I must produce a copy, if one exists, from my choice of: my hand, my discard pile, my play deck, or my sideboard. If he names a creature that meets the criteria, but the only copies I have are: eliminated, or otherwise in play or removed from play, "The Hunt' locks up the processor, and we have to re-boot.
Is this accurate?
Thanks.
He cannot call a Nazgul either of us have in play as a permanent event, even if I have previously discarded the very same Nazgul earlier in the game?
When you say I may get a creature from my sideboard, you mean of course that if it is the only place such a creature exists, I MUST get it from my sideboard. (I cannot 'hide' something from being hunted by moving it into my sideboard...)
It seems quite picky, but if he discovered it through Secret News, and because he knows there is at least one in my discard pile from Aware of Your Ways, he can name it, correct? This is true even if he removes the copy in the discard pile using the Aware?
To summarize, if he has seen a hazard creature card in my deck for any reason, AND he is certain a copy of such has at any point hit my discard pile, it is eligible to be 'hunted'. If named by The Hunt, I must produce a copy, if one exists, from my choice of: my hand, my discard pile, my play deck, or my sideboard. If he names a creature that meets the criteria, but the only copies I have are: eliminated, or otherwise in play or removed from play, "The Hunt' locks up the processor, and we have to re-boot.
Is this accurate?
Thanks.
One more clarification, what of cards under Summons from Long Sleep or any other oddball scenarios I can't think of? Is the list, my hand, my play deck, my discard pile, and my sideboard exhaustive of the places I can get the card?
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Cards placed off to the side (e.g. dragons/drakes with Summons from Long Sleep) cannot be affected by any game effects.
Exceptions are effects that explicitly affects such cards (in most cases that are effects of described on host card - Summons from Long Sleep is host for associated drake/dragon).
The Hunt is not a such exception, of course.
Exceptions are effects that explicitly affects such cards (in most cases that are effects of described on host card - Summons from Long Sleep is host for associated drake/dragon).
The Hunt is not a such exception, of course.
Yes.Is the list, my hand, my play deck, my discard pile, and my sideboard exhaustive of the places I can get the card?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
I dont think this is true, at least it is not played this way. It is a common trick against a great hunt deck to put the nazgul into the sb when exhausting.Konrad Klar wrote:Creature may be taken from sideboard.Further, is the side-board in play for this?
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
It is not a rule, nor official ruling. Indeed.domse wrote:I dont think this is true, at least it is not played this way. It is a common trick against a great hunt deck to put the nazgul into the sb when exhausting.Konrad Klar wrote:Creature may be taken from sideboard.Further, is the side-board in play for this?
But what is special in sideboard? It is freely searchable, as discard pile is.
Cards in sideboard are not in play, as cards at hand, in discard pile, or playdeck are not.
If creature could not be taken from sideboard, why it could be taken from discard pile or playdeck?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
So to clear all possible confusion:
If you play The Great Hunt you gain access to either opponents play or discard pile to hunt the creatures in there. Its a common trick to exhaust faster than Alatar and get the high-value creatures to the sideboard.
With The Hunt this wont work as you would have to search your sideboard for the creature named as well.
If you play The Great Hunt you gain access to either opponents play or discard pile to hunt the creatures in there. Its a common trick to exhaust faster than Alatar and get the high-value creatures to the sideboard.
With The Hunt this wont work as you would have to search your sideboard for the creature named as well.
[url=http://gccg.sourceforge.net/]Come to GCCG or die a lonely death.[/url]
No domse. Iirc i put Saurons Mouth to SB to prevent him from beeing hunted and that "trick" didnt work. I think you killed it...
The card text of The Hunt is pretty obvious. If I would have cheated on you, you really should take a closer look on the cards you use in your deck.
The card text of The Hunt is pretty obvious. If I would have cheated on you, you really should take a closer look on the cards you use in your deck.

[url=http://gccg.sourceforge.net/]Come to GCCG or die a lonely death.[/url]