Nenselde with Twilight

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Olorin
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:01 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Can Nenselde the Wingild retrieve Twilight from your discard pile?
Nenselde the Wingild wrote:Ally. Unique. Playable at Dol Amroth. May not be attacked. Tap Nenselde to return one environment resource long-event or short event from your discard pile to your hand. Discard Nenselde if her company moves to a site not in: Belfalas, Bay of Belfalas, Anfalas, Mouths of the Anduin.
Twilight wrote:Short Event. One environment card in play is immediately discarded. This card may also be played as a resource. This card may be played at any tiem during any player's turn.
(Italics from CRF)

Of course there is a lot of other nuances of twilight, it can be a resource or a hazard in counting your deck, it never counts against the hazard limit, it can target an environment card not yet resolved in the same chain of effects. It cancels ongoing effects of the environment it discads, etc.

It would seem to go against precedent to not permit Nenselde to get it from the discard pile, but, I am not sure I see it explicitly in any of the wording that in a discard pile, Twilight is anything but a hazard short event. I mean by this, you can't discard a drake stashed under 'Summons from a Long Sleep" to satisfy Dragon-feuds, because you aren't 'playing' it, which is a rather legalistic interpretation, that I could see applying to Nenselde. You can 'play' Twilight as a resource, but perhaps that doesn't mean you can treat it as one in all cases. Does this also effect bringing it from your sideboard, only being permissible by actions permitting retrieving a hazard...

I'm in favor of being able to get it with Nenselde, but then again I think the ruling on discarding drakes from under Summons isn't too great either.

On a related note, what environment resource short-events / long-events do people typically rock with Nenselde?

Thanks all,
Olorin
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

You are correct. While Twilight may be played as a resource and a hazard and may count as either for deck construction, it is nevertheless a hazard card and Nenselde cannot retrieve it.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”