Incorrect and non-ratified CoE rulings that contradict the existing ICE rulings and the Rules

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 2816
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Konrad Klar wrote: Thu Jul 16, 2020 11:10 pm
CDavis7M wrote: Thu Jul 16, 2020 10:57 pm ... You said the Roused Dragon's own cancellation of the attack was the same the Roused Dragon's creation of its own attack. I said its actually different because the creation specifically happens "one" time while the self-cancellation happens every time ("all").
If a cancel action is not successful, the attack is still the same attack. There is no reason to treat the attack as a new one attack.
"All attacks are canceled" does not mean "attacks are canceled repeatedly'.
"All attacks are canceled" means that the attack IS canceled. The attack doesn't get to not be cancelled. Prowess of Age only cancels the triggered action, it doesn't cancel the effect that triggers the actions.

"All attacks by manifestations of Scorba against your companies are canceled." This effect operates by passive conditions.
The passive condition is: an attack by a manifestation of Scorba.
The triggered action is: cancel that attack.

If the passive conditions exists during ANY chain of effects, the triggered action is triggered and it is declared in the following chain of effects. That is how passive conditions work. The only reason that Long Winter doesn't continuously tap the site after it has been untapped are because there is a special rule for Environments: "Once the effects of an environment card have been applied to a target during a given movement/hazard phase, that effect is not applied again to that target during the current turn."

What about other effects triggered by passive conditions like Rank Upon Rank? "All non-agent Man attacks receive +1 prowess and +1 strikes." When Assassin comes into play it creates a non-agent Man attack, triggering the "receives +1 prowess and +1 strikes" action. This action is then applied to Assassin, giving it +1 prowess and +1 strikes." So someone might say "But the passive condition still exists?! There is still a Man attack, so it triggers another +1 prowess and +1 strike?" Uh no, this attack already has +1 prowess and +1 strikes, there is nothing left to do... Rank Upon Rank doesn't say +2 prowess and +2 strikes.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4476
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

CDavis7M wrote: Thu Jul 16, 2020 11:19 pm "All attacks are canceled" means that the attack IS canceled. The attack doesn't get to not be cancelled. Prowess of Age only cancels the triggered action, it doesn't cancel the effect that triggers the actions.

"All attacks by manifestations of Scorba against your companies are canceled." This effect operates by passive conditions.
The passive condition is: an attack by a manifestation of Scorba.
The triggered action is: cancel that attack.
Yes.
Just read what you are writing yourself.
Konrad Klar wrote: Thu Jul 16, 2020 10:11 pm Like the attacks from Dragon Roused, Dragon Ahunt, "cancel the attack" from Scorba Roused is triggered once per occurrence of condition.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 2816
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Konrad Klar wrote: Thu Jul 16, 2020 5:53 am Attack from Scorba Roused is declared.
The attack resolves.

First automatically declared action is "cancel the attack" from Scorba Roused,
Prowess of Age is declared in response targeting the action above,
Dragon's Hunger is declared in response on attack from Scorba Roused.
Your reasoning on passive conditions here is inconsistent with your recent reasoning:
Konrad Klar wrote: Mon Jul 06, 2020 4:46 pm Now I say:
Passive Conditions have nothing to do with effects of Forewarned is Forearmed, except the last:
Konrad Klar wrote: Mon Jul 06, 2020 7:12 pm There is no action. There is no trigger. There is an object affected by affect of Forewarned is Forearmed.
Based on your other reasoning, the cancellation of Scorba Roused's attack would happen immediately without being triggered, without possibility of being cancelled by Prowess of Age because it does not change the game state: "there is no action. there is no trigger."
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4476
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

"Cancel" is an action "cannot be canceled" is not an action.

An action may be triggered, non-action may not.

Whole "inconsistency".
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4476
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

CDavis7M wrote: Thu Jul 16, 2020 11:19 pm "All attacks are canceled" means that the attack IS canceled.
I got it finally (I hope).
You understand it as a result, not as action.
Right?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 2816
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Konrad Klar wrote: Thu Jul 16, 2020 11:32 pm Just read what you are writing yourself.
What I am writing is that a non-targeted effect triggered by a passive condition cannot be canceled by a singular targeted effect. An effect will always be applied unless it is canceled by a general (not singular) cancellation effect. All other effects that are able to cancel effects triggered by passive conditions work this way. If the effect triggered by a passive condition could only trigger once, there would be no reason for the ruling: "Once the effects of an environment card have been applied to a target during a given movement/hazard phase, that effect is not applied again to that target during the current turn."

The passive condition can be triggered multiple times until it is applied.


Compare Prowess of Age to the working effects:

(doesn't work) Prowess of Age: "Targets and cancels any effect which (declared earlier in the same chain of effects) that would cancel an attack from a unique Dragon manifestation."

(works) Goldberry: cancel ANY effect that would cause her company to return to its site of origin after declaring its movement to a new site.
(works) Promptings of Wisdom: cancel ALL hazard effects for the rest of the turn that: force his company to return to its site of origin
(works) Govern the Storms: cancel ALL hazard effects for the rest of the turn that: force a sorcery-using character's company to return to its site of origin.
User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 2816
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Konrad Klar wrote: Fri Jul 17, 2020 5:03 pm
CDavis7M wrote: Thu Jul 16, 2020 11:19 pm "All attacks are canceled" means that the attack IS canceled.
I got it finally (I hope).
You understand it as a result, not as action.
Right?
There is no such thing as a "result." They are both actions. Everything that happens in the game is an action. This is the definition.
User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 2816
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

There is no rule would prevent "All attacks by manifestations of Scorba against your companies are canceled" from triggering a second time with respect to the same attack.
Annotation 9: If a card specifies that an action is to occur as a result of some specific passive condition, this action becomes automatically the first action declared in the chain of effects to immediately follow the chain of effects producing the passive condition. The passive condition must exist when this resulting action is resolved in its own chain of effects, or the action is canceled
Scorba Roused states that the action "All attacks by manifestations of Scorba against your companies are canceled" is to occur as a result of some specific passive condition: an attack by a manifestation of Scorba against your company.

If the passive condition exists, the action is triggered. Prowess of Age can cancel 1 specific triggered action. It doesn't cancel "all" triggered actions. There is a difference between Prowess of Age's effect to cancel 1 specific declared effect and Forewarned is Forearmed's effect of making an attack uncancellable.

Prowess of Age stops 1 Concealment.
Forewarned is Forearmed stops all Concealments.
Last edited by CDavis7M on Fri Jul 17, 2020 5:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4476
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

If so, the effect of Riven Gate may ignore the effect of Forewarned is Forearmed.
"Is canceled" effect takes place without invoking of "cancel' action.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4476
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

CDavis7M wrote: Fri Jul 17, 2020 5:12 pm There is no rule would prevent "All attacks by manifestations of Scorba against your companies are canceled" from triggering a second time with respect to the same attack.
Yes. There is no such rule.
It is just a nature of things that the same attack does not become next attack.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 2816
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Konrad Klar wrote: Fri Jul 17, 2020 5:13 pm If so, the effect of Riven Gate may ignore the effect of Forewarned is Forearmed.
"Is canceled" effect takes place without invoking of "cancel' action.
Reading comprehension: the same word has different meanings in different contexts.

Riven Gate states "All automatic-attacks at the site are canceled." Meaning, the first, second, third, etc. attack are canceled... Riven Gates includes 1 cancellation action for each automatic-attack.

Forewarned is Forearmed states "this attack cannot be canceled." Forewarned is Forearmed prevents all attempts to cancel the attack.

This is why some effects actually remove or replace the automatic-attack.
User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 2816
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Konrad Klar wrote: Fri Jul 17, 2020 5:16 pm
CDavis7M wrote: Fri Jul 17, 2020 5:12 pm There is no rule would prevent "All attacks by manifestations of Scorba against your companies are canceled" from triggering a second time with respect to the same attack.
Yes. There is no such rule.
It is just a nature of things that the same attack does not become next attack.
The same attack can be cancelled multiple times by a cancellation effect triggered by a passive condition. The passive condition can trigger for the same entity multiple times.

Otherwise, explain the purpose of "Once the effects of an environment card have been applied to a target during a given movement/hazard phase, that effect is not applied again to that target during the current turn."

All > 1. It's just the "nature of things" and its supported by the rules.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4476
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

CDavis7M wrote: Fri Jul 17, 2020 5:22 pm Otherwise, explain the purpose of "Once the effects of an environment card have been applied to a target during a given movement/hazard phase, that effect is not applied again to that target during the current turn."
Presumably a passive condition that happens in new turn is treated as a new passive condition for environment card.
Otherwise I do not see a sense.

And you have me here. I cannot explain what given movement/hazard phase has to do. As if new passive condition could not happen at the start of new turn.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 2816
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Once the effects of an environment card have been applied to a target during a given movement/hazard phase, that effect is not applied again to that target during the current turn.
The point is that effects triggered by passive conditions CAN be triggered a second time for the same entity if the passive condition exists a second time. But this rule prevents an environment effect from being reapplied even if it would be re-triggered.

If Moon is in play and Choking Shadows is played to change High Pass from a Wilderness to a Shadow-land, this triggers Moon to change High Pass from the Shadow-land back into a Wilderness. If Morgul Night is then played to change High Pass back into a Shadow-land, this would re-trigger the effect of Moon: there is a Shadow-land, change it into a Wilderness. But since this is an environment, the special rule governs and the effect cannot be reapplied. This is why this rule is grouped with Annotation 26, it covers how effects are applied.

No such limitation exists for non-environment effects triggered by a passive condition. If the passive condition exists, the effect is triggered. If Scorba attacks your company, this triggers Scorba Roused to cancel the attack. Prowess of Age may cancel Scorba Roused's triggered cancellation. But then there is still an attack by Scorba, the passive condition still exists. The cancellation effect of Scorba Roused is not an environment, so that effect can be applied again to that same target again during the current turn.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4476
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

CDavis7M wrote: Fri Jul 17, 2020 7:26 pm The cancellation effect of Scorba Roused is not an environment, so that effect can be applied again to that same target again during the current turn.
I am suspecting that the same applies to the attacking effect of Scorba Roused.
Or there is some consistent theory, that explains that it is not a case.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”