token of good will

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Wondrous Maps wrote:Discard Wondrous Maps when the company moves to a new site.
:wink:
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

What happens when character in one character company at Wondrous Maps is eliminated, discarded or returned to hand?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

I suppose, technically, if it's untapped, you should return it to the location deck. :)

Though we do have a differing case with Wondrous Maps. That card is used as a site card in all cases once it is in play. Allies are not considered characters in all cases, only in those cases specified by the rules. Those two cases are:

1) Combat
2) Use of Skill Cards
Smaug
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 10:30 am
Location: Germany

Hi guys,

can not completly agree:

"Clear Skies (Long Event that gives +2 to prowess) would not work on the Minion Ally Great Lord of Goblin-Gate because this would be an instance of a Hero Event affecting a Minion Resource. "

=> ONLY TRUE FOR FW, as an ally of a MINION PLAYER IT WOULD EFFECT!!! Hero ressuorce events effect as well minions unless stated different by ruling or card text.

"Rumor of the One, if played by a FW, would not give extra CPs to his Hero Rings, as this would be affecting them, but would to his Minion Rings."

=> I don´t think so, a hero ring would be affected by it. For FW it is no question anyway, even minion rings would not give an additional point (!) because the original FW rules say that a FW player can not gather additional points by "extrapoint" cards like "Rumor..." or "Tribune ...

CU

Heiner
[/quote]
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

So you do not agree with:
White Hand Rules, Playing and Using Resource, Targeting Site and Resource Cards wrote:Targeting Site and Resource Cards—A hero resource card may not target/affect a minion resource and site. A minion resource card may not target/affect a heroresource and site.
+
CRF, Errata (Rules) wrote:White Hand Rules, Playing and Using Resource, Targeting Site and Resource Cards: change both instances of "resource card may not target/affect" to "resource event card may not target/affect."
?

Please note that Rumor of the One also increases CP, not only MP of rings.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Smaug wrote:Hi guys,

can not completly agree:

"Clear Skies (Long Event that gives +2 to prowess) would not work on the Minion Ally Great Lord of Goblin-Gate because this would be an instance of a Hero Event affecting a Minion Resource. "

=> ONLY TRUE FOR FW, as an ally of a MINION PLAYER IT WOULD EFFECT!!! Hero ressuorce events effect as well minions unless stated different by ruling or card text.
Since this entire topic relates to Fallen Wizards using certain events, that goes without saying. It's also implied by the fact that we're quoting White Hand Rules right and left. :)
Smaug wrote:"Rumor of the One, if played by a FW, would not give extra CPs to his Hero Rings, as this would be affecting them, but would to his Minion Rings."

=> I don´t think so, a hero ring would be affected by it. For FW it is no question anyway, even minion rings would not give an additional point (!) because the original FW rules say that a FW player can not gather additional points by "extrapoint" cards like "Rumor..." or "Tribune ...
This would be why I was talking about corruption points (CPs). :)

And since for FWs, Resource Events may not affect opposing alignment resources, Rumor of the One cannot affect a FW's Hero Gold Rings. It will affect a Hero player's Hero Gold Rings.
Konrad Klar, rulesman extraordinaire wrote:So you do not agree with:
Were you talking to me or him?
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Bandobras Took wrote:
Konrad Klar, rulesman extraordinaire wrote:So you do not agree with:
Were you talking to me or him?
To Smaug.
Bandobras Took wrote:Since this entire topic relates to Fallen Wizards using certain events, that goes without saying. It's also implied by the fact that we're quoting White Hand Rules right and left. :)
Also other players may have items of opposite alignment in its decks. Some rules contained in The White Hand insert are not FW specific. Some that says that "you can/cannot/must" or "your deck/characters/other entities" refer to the FW only. Some other, like rules concerning overtness, Half-orcs, and targeting are general.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Konrad Klar wrote:Some rules contained in The White Hand insert are not FW specific. Some that says that "you can/cannot/must" or "your deck/characters/other entities" refer to the FW only. Some other, like rules concerning overtness, Half-orcs, and targeting are general.
Not entirely:
White Hand Rules, Overtness wrote:A company with any Orc or Troll characters is an overt company. In addition, a company with (list of allies) is an overt company. Any other company is a hero company.
This rule clearly does not apply to Minions.

The targeting rules are listed under "Playing and Using Resources," which is entirely for FWs. It introduces the section by saying "Playing Resources is handled normally with these exceptions."

The targetting rule is one of those exceptions, and applies only to a FW player.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Even if it is disputable whether affecting minion resources by hero events (and vice versa) is forbidden only for FW or for all players, it is clear that hero events cannot target minion items (and vice versa).
CRF, Rulings by Term, MELE vs. METW wrote:Hero items may not be used as conditions for minion resources, and minion items may not be used as conditions for hero resources. Note that a Fallen-wizard may play special ring items regardless of the alignment of the gold ring item tested.
Target is one of conditions.

P.S. Your French is better than my English nowadays. :)
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Good point. :)
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”