
maker's map and secrets of their forgering
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
OK. 

We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
This is from COE Digest #31
I encountered an eratum on RingLore saying that
Ringlore taps the sage and the site. Is it possible to
play ringlore at a tapped site? And on a tapped sage?
*** Unless otherwise stated on the card, if a card requires you to
tap a character, site, or whatever, that entity must be untapped when
you play the card.
- Bandobras Took
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 3157
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm
That's good. By rule requiring untapped whatever causes far less headaches than trying to get it through an active condition. 

- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Some subtle difference between requiring and causing...
E.g. Marvels Told causes discarding of event and requires tapping of sage.
I don't know situation/card where tapping is required at declaration (i.e tapping is AC) and it is stated that entity may be tapped/wounded before declaration.
E.g. Marvels Told causes discarding of event and requires tapping of sage.
I don't know situation/card where tapping is required at declaration (i.e tapping is AC) and it is stated that entity may be tapped/wounded before declaration.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
- Bandobras Took
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 3157
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm
There's no reason why a card can't be said both to cause and to require tapping.Konrad Klar wrote:Some subtle difference between requiring and causing...
E.g. Marvels Told causes discarding of event and requires tapping of sage.
I don't know situation/card where tapping is required at declaration (i.e tapping is AC) and it is stated that entity may be tapped/wounded before declaration.
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Of course. Adunaphel causes tapping character and requires tapping Adunphel PE.Bandobras Took wrote:There's no reason why a card can't be said both to cause and to require tapping.Konrad Klar wrote:Some subtle difference between requiring and causing...
E.g. Marvels Told causes discarding of event and requires tapping of sage.
I don't know situation/card where tapping is required at declaration (i.e tapping is AC) and it is stated that entity may be tapped/wounded before declaration.
For me it is important distinguising between tapping as condition and tapping as main effect.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
- Bandobras Took
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 3157
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm
For me, too. But I also distinguish between a card that "requires an entity to tap" and one that "requires an entity to tap as an active condition."
The ruling Wacho quoted applies to any card that requires an entity to tap, I think, not merely those that require an entity to tap as part of an active condition.
The ruling Wacho quoted applies to any card that requires an entity to tap, I think, not merely those that require an entity to tap as part of an active condition.
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
I'm not sure that author of COE Digest #31 was distinguishing between a card that "requires an entity to tap" and one that "requires an entity to tap as an active condition."Bandobras Took wrote:But I also distinguish between a card that "requires an entity to tap" and one that "requires an entity to tap as an active condition."
In your opinion: which resource causes tapping entity but does not require tapping it? Is such distinction existing in practice?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
- Bandobras Took
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 3157
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm
There are quite a few resources that say "tap a character or discard this card." Mainly permanent events. They will tap a character, but they don't require you to.
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Such resources does not cause tapping. Can you say that Marvels Told requires cc, because cc from Marvels Told is mandatory, not optional?
Sorry, I don't want be grotty. I want to understand this distinction between:
a card that "requires an entity to tap" and one that "requires an entity to tap as an active condition."
Sorry, I don't want be grotty. I want to understand this distinction between:
a card that "requires an entity to tap" and one that "requires an entity to tap as an active condition."
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
- Bandobras Took
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 3157
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm
How not? You get through all the attacks, and if you have an untapped character, this card will tap them if you choose. That's causing tapping. But it isn't required -- there exists an option on the card itself for doing something other than tapping a character.Konrad Klar wrote:Such resources does not cause tapping.
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
OK. Such resources does not force tapping.
So if action is mandatory then this action is required in your opinion?
So if action is mandatory then this action is required in your opinion?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
- Bandobras Took
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 3157
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm
I would say, for the purposes of interpreting that ruling, yes. Anything broader than that would likely spark another debate.
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
I.e. for purpose of tapping only?Bandobras Took wrote:I would say, for the purposes of interpreting that ruling, yes.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Because "entity must be untapped when you play the card" is not equal to "playable on untapped entity" some workaround is possible:I encountered an eratum on RingLore saying that
Ringlore taps the sage and the site. Is it possible to
play ringlore at a tapped site? And on a tapped sage?
*** Unless otherwise stated on the card, if a card requires you to
tap a character, site, or whatever, that entity must be untapped when
you play the card.
Playing several Information cards in the same chain of effect (if none of them does not require expliticly untapped site/sage).
For "playable on untapped entity" it is not possible, because condition "untapped entity" is checked both on declaration (when card is played) and at resolution.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.