question about races and so

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
marcos
Ex Council Member
Posts: 2032
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Córdoba, Argentina

When a card refers to a particular race (i.e. Elves, dwarfs, men, etc), does it refers to characters and factions or only characters?
Leon
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 12:18 pm

I think this usually applies only to characters.

Dain II has this text for example:
+1 direct influence against Men and Man factions
marcos
Ex Council Member
Posts: 2032
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Córdoba, Argentina

thanks
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

It applies to any card with the keyword.
Buthrakaur wrote:Warrior/Scout/Ranger Troll
Great Troll wrote:Balrog specific. Playable at a non-Darkhaven Under-deeps site and only by The Balrog. Troll. Even if tapped or wounded, you may assign a strike to this ally as though it were untapped.
Olog-Hai wrote:Trolls. Three strikes (playable only against hero companies).
Master of the House wrote:Unique. Elf.
Haldir wrote:Warrior Elf
Wood-Elves wrote:Elf Faction
Cock Crows would cancel an attack from trolls. This could be an attack from a hazard creature, and attack created by Stay Her Appetite, or an attack created by Traitor.

Refuge is playable only if you discard an elf from your hand. It does not specify the type of card, so Master of the House, Haldir, and Wood-elves would all be valid to discard for the card, since they all have the text "elf."
marcos
Ex Council Member
Posts: 2032
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Córdoba, Argentina

what if some card reads:

-X to influence attempts against (race)

does it include, characters and factions?
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

The way I read the cards, yes.
Leon
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 12:18 pm

I think all character texts make a distinction between race of characters and factions, so if you have an exception to this please post it.

Anyway, if this is about the Ghosts V card, you need to put in against Dunedain, Men and Dunedan or Man factions. This is worded clearly, no matter the result of this discussion.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Against that, however, we have the fact that their are no Men characters or Dunedain characters. There are only Man characters and Dunadan characters.

Men and Dunedain as identifiers are used only on creature hazards, so if we are going to take character texts strictly and literally, Dain would only have a DI bonus vs hazards of those types and Man Factions.

While I agree that the character texts distinguish between characters and factions, I think, as you mentioned doing for the Ghosts Virtual card, that they do so simply for the sake of clarity.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”