Agent Attacks timing questions

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Olorin
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:01 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Reading the Dark Minions Agent rules lead me to three questions.

1- Does taking an agent action during the Site phase have any interaction with on-guard cards, and can on-guard cards be used to modify an attack by an agent?

2- The rules state an attack action by an agent is declared and enacted immediately at the beginning of the site phase after facing the automatic attack. Which is it? Is it declared at the beginning of the site phase, (as the party declares it is entering the site), or after the automatic attack(s) are faced? Does the resource player get know its coming, or can you decide to do it after the auto-attacks?

3- When is the 'separate roll' to modify the prowess made for each strike? I assume it is during the strike sequence at the time the hazard player would normally get to play cards / effects that would modify the prowess, and this is how I/we play it. However, nothing in the rules directly indicates it isn't before the order of strikes is chosen, or even before strikes are assigned. Can someone help me out here?

Thanks all,
Olorin
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

1. Technically only five agent activities are agent actions, all may be only taken during M/H phase.
To be revealed the on-guard must met some conditions. If revealed when a company enter site it must be creature playable at the site or it must affect the automatic-attack at site. So card that affects the agent must also affect the AA (e.g. Night if Doors of Night is in play)*.
2. According to the example in DM insert (Gisulf in Goblin-gate), agent is revealed after resolution of AA.
Unfortunatelly rules (AFAIK) are not precise in question of order:
Creature before/after agent attack.
3.
CRF, Rulings by Term, Agent wrote:Rolls made by agents during combat are done simultaneously with rolls made by
characters during combat, after step 4 of the strike sequence.
*) Theoretically it may be also creature, that as its side effect affects agent, but I don't know real relevant example.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”