Page 1 of 1
Beginner question - eliminated character and his items
Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 4:05 pm
by ali40thiefs
I would like to ask what happen with the items which is bearing an charcter eliminated by combat. Can other characters take his items, or are they but in the dicard pile or ? Many thanks for advice.
Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 4:48 pm
by Sfan
The item can be transferred to any non-wounded character in the same company if there are no limitation written on the card (like 'Wizard's staff' that can be borne by a wizard only). So a 'Sword of Gondolin' in example can be used multiple times in one combat.
Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 5:06 pm
by Beornd
Sfan wrote:The item can be transferred to any non-wounded character in the same company if there are no limitation written on the card (like 'Wizard's staff' that can be borne by a wizard only). So a 'Sword of Gondolin' in example can be used multiple times in one combat.
Exactlier ...
one item....
Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 5:12 pm
by ali40thiefs
Beornd wrote:Sfan wrote:The item can be transferred to any non-wounded character in the same company if there are no limitation written on the card (like 'Wizard's staff' that can be borne by a wizard only). So a 'Sword of Gondolin' in example can be used multiple times in one combat.
Exactlier ...
one item....
So when the eliminated character has two items and the moment of death, it is possible to transfer only one ?
Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 5:52 pm
by Alter Tuk
ali40thiefs wrote:Beornd wrote:Sfan wrote:The item can be transferred to any non-wounded character in the same company if there are no limitation written on the card (like 'Wizard's staff' that can be borne by a wizard only). So a 'Sword of Gondolin' in example can be used multiple times in one combat.
Exactlier ...
one item....
So when the eliminated character has two items and the moment of death, it is possible to transfer only one ?
Edited. I was obviously wrong about that.
Further information in the rules book or at the dutch council site in the rules section which is the best online source for rules.
http://www.meccg.net/netherlands/meccg/
Or follow the link in my signature and join our online-gaming community to find out how that feels like.

Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 2:41 am
by Konrad Klar
Lidless Eye, Starter Rules, Playing and Drawing Cards, Transferring Items wrote:Normally, when a character leaves active play (e.g., is discarded or eliminated), all cards controlled by him are discarded. There are two major exceptions to this:
* Sometimes, the card that causes the character to leave play allows him to transfer an item(s) (e.g., Call of Home).
* If a character is eliminated due to failing a body check, one item can be immediately transferred to each unwounded character in his company: but, the rest of his items are discarded.
CRF, Rulins by Term, Body Check wrote:Annotation 22: When a character fails a body check, his items may be immediately
reassigned to unwounded characters in his company, one item per character.
Reassigning of the eliminated character's items is considered to be synonymous with
his failed body check, i.e., no action may take place between the failed check and
reassigning the items. Unassigned items are discarded.
So one item for each recipient, not one item of eliminated chcracter.
Re:
Posted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 6:13 pm
by domse
Konrad Klar wrote:Lidless Eye, Starter Rules, Playing and Drawing Cards, Transferring Items wrote:Normally, when a character leaves active play (e.g., is discarded or eliminated), all cards controlled by him are discarded. There are two major exceptions to this:
* Sometimes, the card that causes the character to leave play allows him to transfer an item(s) (e.g., Call of Home).
* If a character is eliminated due to failing a body check, one item can be immediately transferred to each unwounded character in his company: but, the rest of his items are discarded.
CRF, Rulins by Term, Body Check wrote:Annotation 22: When a character fails a body check, his items may be immediately
reassigned to unwounded characters in his company, one item per character.
Reassigning of the eliminated character's items is considered to be synonymous with
his failed body check, i.e., no action may take place between the failed check and
reassigning the items. Unassigned items are discarded.
So one item for each recipient, not one item of eliminated chcracter.
I am SHOCKED! I played this one wrong for a quite a long time now... Why didnt somebody tell me?
Re: Beginner question - eliminated character and his items
Posted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 6:17 pm
by Konrad Klar
Errr...
Somebody just tell you...

Re: Beginner question - eliminated character and his items
Posted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:22 am
by Alter Tuk
Strange thing that is.... Almost everybody plays that wrong who I have played with in years, including me....
Re: Beginner question - eliminated character and his items
Posted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:31 pm
by Sauron
We're too used to 2 man companies
