Balrog stuff

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
marcos
Ex Council Member
Posts: 2032
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Córdoba, Argentina

A Balrog player acts as a Ringwraith player. Any card and rules text applying to a Ringwraith also applies to The Balrog (e.g., if a card refers to a Ringwraith, it now applies to "a Ringwraith or The Balrog").
After being revealed, a Ringwraith operates like any other character except that it may only be in a company with other characters if it is at a Darkhaven.
does this means that a Balrog can't be in a company with other characters outside a darkhaven? Even with Great Shadow or Strangling Coils he can't be outside a haven with other characters, since it only allows him to have followers, but not to join with other characters...
wild1
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 6:50 am

From the Balrog rules insert:
However, instead of using the special rules listed on page 59 of the MELE rules (or wherever else these rules may appear), a Balrog player uses the following special rules:
From the MELE rules insert:
This is a summary of the special effects of the Ringwraith character.
· A Ringwraith may only be in a company with non-Ringwraith characters if he is at a Darkhaven.
· Any ring in the Ringwraith's company at the beginning of the end-of-turn phase is automatically tested. Any ring test in a Ringwraith's company has a modification of -2.
· A Ringwraith may carry items (including rings) but may not use them (i.e., an item has no effect on a Ringwraith's company or on his attributes and abilities).
· Ringwraiths never make corruption checks and corruption cards may not be played on Ringwraiths.
· Unless at a Darkhaven, a Ringwraith may not be in a company with non-Ringwraith characters.
· A Ringwraith may not use a site path that contains Coastal Seas regions.
· A Ringwraith's company may not use region movement.
· A Ringwraith follower is only discarded as described on the mode cards (i.e., Heralded Lord, Black Rider, and Fell Rider). · A Ringwraith follower (see the previous page) may not use any of its special abilities. Ûvatha's ability to automatically join another Ringwraith's company is an exception to this.
· If a body check against a Ringwraith is exactly equal to 7 or 8, the Ringwraith is returned to your hand. You do not lose the game if your Ringwraith is removed in this fashion - you may bring such a Ringwraith back into play in the same fashion as you revealed him in the first place. If this happens to our Ringwraith, you may not reveal a different Ringwraith and your opponent may not reveal the Ringwraith that you returned to your hand.
I'd say that since there is a special action listed that a ringwraith may only be in a company with non-ringwraith characters if he is at a darkhaven, the quote you listed, which I believe is in the Starter Rules section, would not apply because of the statement in parenthesis in the Balrog rules insert (i.e. because it's listed on the special rules list, no other instances of that rule would apply not matter which section they are found).

Plus, from CoE newsletter #50:
The balrog cant have followers, but he can be with a company anytime
(not like a ringwraith) right ?

***  Correct.
marcos
Ex Council Member
Posts: 2032
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Córdoba, Argentina

Thanks i was looking but i couldnt find that Diggest entry. After 700 games online i knew i was right, but the guy i was playing with was %100 sure about it so i had to ask :)
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”