Face Up Agent
Posted: Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:21 pm
Scenario
Hazard Player:
Face Up Agent A is at Site A (With Homesite B and C)
Company is at Site B
Resource Player:
Moves his Company from site D to Site B
Can the Hazad Player return Agent A to Site B while face up?
Relevant Rules from DM:
Agent Actions:
An agent may return to its home site (i.e., remove all of the site cards on the agent).
Moving an Agent (Agent Action)
When one of your agents moves, tap it and place its new site card on top of the agent and any other site cards already on the agent (face-up if the agent is face-up, face-down if the agent is face-down). If the agent is face-up, return to your location deck all site cards other than the new site card. Thus, the top site card on an agent indicates its current site.
Revealing an Agent
You may turn any of your face-down agents face-up (i.e., reveal them) at any time during your opponent's movement/hazard phase. This doesn't count as an agent action as outlined above and it doesn't count against the hazard limit. Alternatively, you must reveal an agent when it attacks, when it makes an influence attempt, or when certain cards are played.
If one of your agents is revealed before it has moved, you must immediately choose which home site it is at-place the appropriate site card with the agent. If you do not have such a site card in your location deck, discard the agent at the end of the current turn.
If one of your agents is revealed after it has moved, the first site card that was played must be one of its home sites or it must be in the same region as one of the agent's home sites or it must be in a region adjacent to a region that contains one of the agent's home sites. Any site card other than the first site card must be in the same region as the previous site placed on the agent or it must be in a region adjacent to the region that contains the previous site placed on the agent.
My analysis:
Since the Agent is already face up according to the moving agent rule to return to their homesite they would have to have the site card to play face up. Further more the rule: "If one of your agents is revealed before it has moved, you must immediately choose which home site it is at-place the appropriate site card with the agent. If you do not have such a site card in your location deck, discard the agent at the end of the current turn." Only would apply when the agent is revealed and hasn't moved. Since the agent is already face up by viture of not being at his homesite has moved this rule would not apply, so he would still need a site card. I'll try to do more analysis later.
Thoughts?
I've gotten responses from Mark Alfano, Konrad Klar, and Marcos.
Hazard Player:
Face Up Agent A is at Site A (With Homesite B and C)
Company is at Site B
Resource Player:
Moves his Company from site D to Site B
Can the Hazad Player return Agent A to Site B while face up?
Relevant Rules from DM:
Agent Actions:
An agent may return to its home site (i.e., remove all of the site cards on the agent).
Moving an Agent (Agent Action)
When one of your agents moves, tap it and place its new site card on top of the agent and any other site cards already on the agent (face-up if the agent is face-up, face-down if the agent is face-down). If the agent is face-up, return to your location deck all site cards other than the new site card. Thus, the top site card on an agent indicates its current site.
Revealing an Agent
You may turn any of your face-down agents face-up (i.e., reveal them) at any time during your opponent's movement/hazard phase. This doesn't count as an agent action as outlined above and it doesn't count against the hazard limit. Alternatively, you must reveal an agent when it attacks, when it makes an influence attempt, or when certain cards are played.
If one of your agents is revealed before it has moved, you must immediately choose which home site it is at-place the appropriate site card with the agent. If you do not have such a site card in your location deck, discard the agent at the end of the current turn.
If one of your agents is revealed after it has moved, the first site card that was played must be one of its home sites or it must be in the same region as one of the agent's home sites or it must be in a region adjacent to a region that contains one of the agent's home sites. Any site card other than the first site card must be in the same region as the previous site placed on the agent or it must be in a region adjacent to the region that contains the previous site placed on the agent.
My analysis:
Since the Agent is already face up according to the moving agent rule to return to their homesite they would have to have the site card to play face up. Further more the rule: "If one of your agents is revealed before it has moved, you must immediately choose which home site it is at-place the appropriate site card with the agent. If you do not have such a site card in your location deck, discard the agent at the end of the current turn." Only would apply when the agent is revealed and hasn't moved. Since the agent is already face up by viture of not being at his homesite has moved this rule would not apply, so he would still need a site card. I'll try to do more analysis later.
Thoughts?
I've gotten responses from Mark Alfano, Konrad Klar, and Marcos.