Agents, Creatures, and Whose Site To Use

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Agents may tap to play creatures based on the site type of the agent's current site.

1) For purposes of determining what creatures are playable, do I use the version from my site deck or my opponent's?

1) Are these creatures considered keyed to anything?

As a hypothetical example, my agent Wormtongue is at Hero Isengard when my FW opponent is moving to the Wizardhaven Isengard.

I tap Wormtongue to make creatures playable.

1) Is the site for this purpose considered to be a Ruins & Lairs or a Haven? If the latter, then it would seem that no creatures are enabled (no tapping to make creatures playable at a Haven).

2) Are these creatures considered keyed to Isengard?

There is also a third question, which is

3) Can I target a site that a face-up agent is currently at with my own hazards?

My apologies if these have been answered before, but I'm trying to wrap my mind around this ability and see where it goes.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Bandobras Took wrote:1) Are these creatures considered keyed to anything?
Dark Minions wrote:• You may play Men, Dwarves, Elves, Dúnedain, and Hobbits at Free-Holds.
• You may play Orcs, Nazgûl, Men, Dwarves, Elves, Dúnedain, and Hobbits at
Border-Holds.
• You may play [...]
CRF wrote:A creature "played at" a site is the same as being "keyed to" the site.

Bandobras Took wrote:3) Can I target a site that a face-up agent is currently at with my own hazards?
CRF wrote:Hazards may only be played on a company whose movement/hazard phase is being resolved, or on the site they are moving to.
and
CRF wrote:A non-moving company's current site is considered its new site for card play.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Bandobras Took wrote:1) For purposes of determining what creatures are playable, do I use the version from my site deck or my opponent's?
Because:
CRF wrote:Hazards may only be played on a company whose movement/hazard phase is being resolved, or on the site they are moving to.
I think company's new site is used for purposes of determining what creatures are playable.

In case:
Bandobras Took wrote:As a hypothetical example, my agent Wormtongue is at Hero Isengard when my FW opponent is moving to the Wizardhaven Isengard.
Isengard is not "the same Ruins & Lairs, Shadow-hold, or Dark-hold" so creatures cannot be made playable in this fasion.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”