Lure of the Senses...

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
the JabberwocK
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 1156
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

I noticed that the Lidless Eye version of this card states "untap phase if at a Darkhaven" and the Wizards version states "untap phase if at a Haven."

Whereas most cards which were reprinted in Lidless Eye have the exact same text (or a clarified text), this card seems to clearly be different entirely.

The LE Lure of the Senses apparently can be played against minion companies while the Wizards version can be played against hero companies.

It seems to me that this card should have been changed to "untap phase at a Haven OR Darkhaven" so that it could be played on both hero and minion companies.

Given that the card doesn't state this, what is the understanding of how this card is played? You are only allowed to have 3 of any non-unique card in your play deck, so
am I correct in thinking that you can only have 3 of either the LE version or the WIZ version or a combination of the two, but that you can not have 3 of each in your deck
even though they do different things (because this would violate 3 copies of the same titled card)?

If anyone can clarify this card for me it would be much appreciated. I tried to check errata and didn't see any comments on this.
User avatar
miguel
Ex NetRep
Posts: 705
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:21 am

CRF: Rulings by Term: Darkhaven wrote:Whenever a hazard affecting heroes refers to a Darkhaven, interpret it as referring to a Haven instead.
All prints of Lure of the Senses work the same way. Most recent English print is considered the official version.
User avatar
the JabberwocK
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 1156
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Ok, thank you!!

So just to be 100% clear... this means that Lure of the Senses (either version) can be played both on Hero and Minion characters.

If it is played on a character in a Hero company, you use "Haven." If it is played on a character in a minion company, you use "Darkhaven."

Correct?

Thanks again!
User avatar
miguel
Ex NetRep
Posts: 705
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:21 am

Yes that's correct. :D

And for FW the cards of course refer to Wizardhavens.
User avatar
the JabberwocK
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 1156
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

miguel wrote:Yes that's correct. :D

And for FW the cards of course refer to Wizardhavens.

An excellent additional point! Thanks again!
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”