Page 1 of 1

Ride Against the Enemy and Press Gang

Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:49 pm
by Bandobras Took
Ride Against the Enemy wrote:Playable on a company moving through a Wilderness if you have a character in your hand. Reveal the character. A single-strike hazard creature attack is made on the company with the attributes of the revealed character, except the prowess is increased by 7. Other cards have no effect on this attack. The attack is detainment if the revealed character and the company are both minion or both hero. If defeated, place the character in your opponent's marshalling point pile - he receives the character's marshalling points as kill points. Otherwise, discard the character.
Press Gang wrote:When a character would otherwise be discarded from play, discard all cards on him, place him "off to the side" with this card, and return any character already with this card to its owner's hand. A character with this card gives his player negative character marshalling points. Cannot be duplicated.
Would discarding a character through Ride Against the Enemy's attack fulfil Press Gang's requirement that a character be discarded "from play?"

Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 12:27 am
by Konrad Klar
If character was previously in play (even in such unusual way), I think yes.

Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 3:46 pm
by Ringbearer
I tend to disagree the character was in play. Its just revealed, and then discarded/eliminated. The card itself creates the attack, and it never mentions the card is in play/set aside so I assume its technically in your hand during the resolve of Ride Against The Enemy.

Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 4:02 pm
by Wacho
It has been ruled that Ride Against the Enemy does bring the character into play (COE 39) so I think that Press-Gang would capture the character.