A bunch of questions...need help!
Posted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 8:57 am
Hello all -
I know the forum rules recommend making a separate post for different questions, however I have a LOT of questions and didn't want to make a mess out of this forum by making a bunch of individual topics. I have been making my way through the Universal Rules Doc by B. Took and as such, some of my questions below are not covered there or I need additional clarification or confirmation on them. Others may be answered in the document but I have simply not gotten to it yet. All of the questions below have arisen recently from actual game play. I certainly don't expect one person to answer them all, but anyone who can help with any of these questions would be most appreciated!! Thanks in advance!
1) If a character is moving alone and you play a creature hazard with 1 attack of two strikes, is the excess strike first assigned as a -1 prowess modifier to the character who then faces the second strike?
2) Can an elven cloak cancel a hazard creature attack that was keyed to 3 wildernesses and required 3 wildernesses to be played?
3) If I draw a Smoke Ring during my end of turn draw can I immediately play it and then continue to draw up to my hand? Or is the drawing of cards during my end of turn phase considered to be one continuous action?
4) I have two companies at the beginning of my M/H phase. One is at a tapped Burh Widu who plans to leave the site and go to Lorien. The second company is at The Lonely Mountain and wants to travel to Burh Widu. Once a company leaves Burh Widu, it goes back into the site deck and can be played again, however all sites must be declared (played?) at once during the beginning of the movement hazard phase. So is it possible if my company leaving BW for Lorien moves first, for my second company to still move to BW on the same turn and arrive at an untapped site?
5) Cards like Rhun state "Playable during organization phase on a company moving without region cards." So if you and your opponent are playing a game using region cards (or a map), can this card legally be played still? In other words, can you simply choose not to use region movement for one company moving during your turn?
6) In regards to tapping a character for support, am I correct that in battle, a character must tap BEFORE a roll is made to give a +1 prowess modifier to another character facing a strike, wheras a corruption check may make the roll first and then a character in the same company may tap to support or boost a failed roll AFTER the fact? Also, allies may tap to support prowess modifiers during battle but may not tap to support corruption checks, correct?
7) Are there any other cards in this game that you are allowed to have more than 3 copies in your play deck other than Black Horse (which allows you to have 9)?
8 ) Can hazard events be played outside of the Movement/Hazard phase? For example, if my opponent plays a Dark Quarrels to cancel an automatic attack during the site phase, may I then play Many Sorrows Befall? Alternatively, may I place a hazard event like Many Sorrows Befall "On Guard" at a site during the normal M/H phase and counting against the hazard limit and then reveal it if my opponent plays a short event during his site phase at that site? If he does not play a short event, may I return it to my hand?
9) Can you start the game with a "hoard" non-unique minor item on one or two of your characters?
10) Does the hazard player always assign -1 prowess modifiers for excess strikes when you have more strikes than characters? Is this the same for both hazard creatures and automatic attacks?
11) If you try to play a faction and are unsuccessful, the faction is discarded but the site does NOT tap, correct?
12) Can a wounded character still transfer an item normally?
13) Can you utilize the -3 modifier when attempting to remove a corruption card from a character during the organization phase if the character is already tapped before the attempt? Or is it a requirement that the character be able to tap in order to attempt the roll untapped at a -3? Also, is there any limit to how many corruption cards you can make an attempt at removal off of a single character in a turn? For example, if one character has 3 different corruption cards on him, could you make rolls to attempt removal of the first 2 untapped at a -3 for each and then tap to remove the third one normally?
14) Can a wounded character still tap and use an untapped item he possesses normally without restriction?
15) I play a Cave Drake hazard creature and target Legolas for one of the strikes. Legolas has a noble hound in tow who must face the strike instead of Legolas. After the Noble Hound faces the strike, can I then assign the second strike to directly to Legolas himself since the Noble Hound has already faced one? Or do I have to assign both strikes simultaneously to two different character in the company and then the Noble Hound jumps in to take the strike assigned to Legolas? What if I assign one strike to the Noble Hound and one strike to Legolas at the same time, would the Noble Hound take both strikes or how would that work?
16) Just to confirm: 2 separate companies travelling from different sites of origin can travel to the same destination site, join as one company once they both arrive and enter the site during the site phase as a single company. Then on the next turn, the companies could again split during the organization phase and then go their separate ways, correct?
17) Can a character's prowess go into the negative?
18) Who goes first at the final council at the end of the game? What if one player's wizard is corrupted and lost during the final council? He loses the game, correct? But does the other player still proceed with his final council actions to make sure his wizard is not also corrupted?
19) If I play Weariness of the Heart on a tapped Glorfindel to force a corruption check and Glorfindel is carrying Cram, can he interrupt and use the Cram to untap (thus dropping one corruption point) before making his corruption roll? Also, what if Glorfindel is already untapped, could he drop the Cram to "untap" even though he isn't tapped?
20) If a company of 2 untapped characters are sitting at Rivendell and a company of 3 characters (all tapped) moves to Rivendell and one character in that company has to make a corruption check at the end of the Movement/Hazard phase, can one or both of the untapped characters who have been sitting at Rivendell tap to support the corruption check?
21) Was there ever an errata to make Old Man Willow a unique hazard creature? It seems like he should be unique since he is a single, specific entity.
I know the forum rules recommend making a separate post for different questions, however I have a LOT of questions and didn't want to make a mess out of this forum by making a bunch of individual topics. I have been making my way through the Universal Rules Doc by B. Took and as such, some of my questions below are not covered there or I need additional clarification or confirmation on them. Others may be answered in the document but I have simply not gotten to it yet. All of the questions below have arisen recently from actual game play. I certainly don't expect one person to answer them all, but anyone who can help with any of these questions would be most appreciated!! Thanks in advance!
1) If a character is moving alone and you play a creature hazard with 1 attack of two strikes, is the excess strike first assigned as a -1 prowess modifier to the character who then faces the second strike?
2) Can an elven cloak cancel a hazard creature attack that was keyed to 3 wildernesses and required 3 wildernesses to be played?
3) If I draw a Smoke Ring during my end of turn draw can I immediately play it and then continue to draw up to my hand? Or is the drawing of cards during my end of turn phase considered to be one continuous action?
4) I have two companies at the beginning of my M/H phase. One is at a tapped Burh Widu who plans to leave the site and go to Lorien. The second company is at The Lonely Mountain and wants to travel to Burh Widu. Once a company leaves Burh Widu, it goes back into the site deck and can be played again, however all sites must be declared (played?) at once during the beginning of the movement hazard phase. So is it possible if my company leaving BW for Lorien moves first, for my second company to still move to BW on the same turn and arrive at an untapped site?
5) Cards like Rhun state "Playable during organization phase on a company moving without region cards." So if you and your opponent are playing a game using region cards (or a map), can this card legally be played still? In other words, can you simply choose not to use region movement for one company moving during your turn?
6) In regards to tapping a character for support, am I correct that in battle, a character must tap BEFORE a roll is made to give a +1 prowess modifier to another character facing a strike, wheras a corruption check may make the roll first and then a character in the same company may tap to support or boost a failed roll AFTER the fact? Also, allies may tap to support prowess modifiers during battle but may not tap to support corruption checks, correct?
7) Are there any other cards in this game that you are allowed to have more than 3 copies in your play deck other than Black Horse (which allows you to have 9)?
8 ) Can hazard events be played outside of the Movement/Hazard phase? For example, if my opponent plays a Dark Quarrels to cancel an automatic attack during the site phase, may I then play Many Sorrows Befall? Alternatively, may I place a hazard event like Many Sorrows Befall "On Guard" at a site during the normal M/H phase and counting against the hazard limit and then reveal it if my opponent plays a short event during his site phase at that site? If he does not play a short event, may I return it to my hand?
9) Can you start the game with a "hoard" non-unique minor item on one or two of your characters?
10) Does the hazard player always assign -1 prowess modifiers for excess strikes when you have more strikes than characters? Is this the same for both hazard creatures and automatic attacks?
11) If you try to play a faction and are unsuccessful, the faction is discarded but the site does NOT tap, correct?
12) Can a wounded character still transfer an item normally?
13) Can you utilize the -3 modifier when attempting to remove a corruption card from a character during the organization phase if the character is already tapped before the attempt? Or is it a requirement that the character be able to tap in order to attempt the roll untapped at a -3? Also, is there any limit to how many corruption cards you can make an attempt at removal off of a single character in a turn? For example, if one character has 3 different corruption cards on him, could you make rolls to attempt removal of the first 2 untapped at a -3 for each and then tap to remove the third one normally?
14) Can a wounded character still tap and use an untapped item he possesses normally without restriction?
15) I play a Cave Drake hazard creature and target Legolas for one of the strikes. Legolas has a noble hound in tow who must face the strike instead of Legolas. After the Noble Hound faces the strike, can I then assign the second strike to directly to Legolas himself since the Noble Hound has already faced one? Or do I have to assign both strikes simultaneously to two different character in the company and then the Noble Hound jumps in to take the strike assigned to Legolas? What if I assign one strike to the Noble Hound and one strike to Legolas at the same time, would the Noble Hound take both strikes or how would that work?
16) Just to confirm: 2 separate companies travelling from different sites of origin can travel to the same destination site, join as one company once they both arrive and enter the site during the site phase as a single company. Then on the next turn, the companies could again split during the organization phase and then go their separate ways, correct?
17) Can a character's prowess go into the negative?
18) Who goes first at the final council at the end of the game? What if one player's wizard is corrupted and lost during the final council? He loses the game, correct? But does the other player still proceed with his final council actions to make sure his wizard is not also corrupted?
19) If I play Weariness of the Heart on a tapped Glorfindel to force a corruption check and Glorfindel is carrying Cram, can he interrupt and use the Cram to untap (thus dropping one corruption point) before making his corruption roll? Also, what if Glorfindel is already untapped, could he drop the Cram to "untap" even though he isn't tapped?
20) If a company of 2 untapped characters are sitting at Rivendell and a company of 3 characters (all tapped) moves to Rivendell and one character in that company has to make a corruption check at the end of the Movement/Hazard phase, can one or both of the untapped characters who have been sitting at Rivendell tap to support the corruption check?
21) Was there ever an errata to make Old Man Willow a unique hazard creature? It seems like he should be unique since he is a single, specific entity.