Memories Recalled
-
- Ex Council Member
- Posts: 1351
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 10:46 am
- Location: Kempen (Niederrhein) Germany
The way I read as a non native speaker you can discard it from hand instead of discarding 1 from the company, so you still need one Lost Knowledge in the company, but I am not sure this is how it was meant to be played. . .
and I have for sure seen it played wrongly
mfg Nicolai
and I have for sure seen it played wrongly
mfg Nicolai
Short-event
Playable on a character with a sage in his company. All dark enchantments on target character are discarded. Alternatively, a sage can tap and you can discard this card from your hand to fulfill the requirement that Lost Knowledge be discarded for any card played with the sage's company.
- Bandobras Took
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 3157
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm
Boy, does a chain of effects get ugly when you try to use this card. 
As I read it, you don't have to already have a lost knowledge card in play. Cards which require the discarding of a Lost Knowledge card do so as an active condition, and you can use Memories Recalled to satisfy that Active Condition. So long as that's been satisfied, the card in question will be just fine when that card resolves in its chain of effects.

Theoretically, discarding the Lost Knowledge is an Active Condition for play of Fate of the Ithil-Stone. Using Memories Recalled would have to be done as part of that active condition, meaning that it happens immediately when play of Fate of the Ithil-Stone is declared (no chance for response; the chain of effects is still being established at this point, but you can't respond to Active Conditions).Fate wrote:Playable on a company at Minas Tirith if the company discards (for no effect) a Lost Knowledge card it controls.
As I read it, you don't have to already have a lost knowledge card in play. Cards which require the discarding of a Lost Knowledge card do so as an active condition, and you can use Memories Recalled to satisfy that Active Condition. So long as that's been satisfied, the card in question will be just fine when that card resolves in its chain of effects.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
You can do that, but it needs to be in order to fulfill the requirement stated in the card text (not just because you want to discard the card).zirilan wrote:Can I just tap a sage and discard this card even if my company has no "Lost Knowlege" card in play?