erratum Lure of Nature

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Thorsten the Traveller
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 1766
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

Lure of Nature metw:
(-) target character makes one corruption check at the end of each movement/hazard phase for each wilderness in the site path that his company moved through that turn.
Lure of Nature mele:
(-) target character makes a corruption check at the end of his movement/hazard phase for each wilderness in his company's site path.
the erratum according to CRF:
Replace "at the end of each movement/hazard phase" with "after all other hazards have been played."
Then there's also a clarification, which isn't very clarifying imo. It says "The corruption checks caused by Lure of Nature happen at the end of the afflicted character's movement/hazard phase. Of course, the character's player can play resources to modify the corruption checks. The hazard player is allowed to play hazards in response." Well if that's the case, then why the erratum? The clarification states exactly what's on the original LoN.

A literal reading of the erratum would indicate that target character must make cc's after ALL m/h phases for that company, i.e. after ALL hazards for that company have been played, in case you move again. The clarification denies this.
- Is this a correct interpretation?
- if not, should the erratum or the clarification not be changed?

Moreover, the metw version can easily substitute the suggested phrase, because it still leaves "that his company moved through that turn." But as after 1 m/h phase starts another site path, the mele version would have a problem with this reading.

I'm making the errata files for gccg, and it would be preferable to have the same text on both Lures (except for the Orcs/RW part), not different versions of the same card. Any help on a clearer formulation of exactly what the erratum intends is appreciated.

nb. the erratum states "after all hazards have been played", a literal reading implies that even hazards for other companies should also be played? But basically the same clarification denies this. Either way, a clearer rewrite of this erratum would be preferable.
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

CRF, Movement/Hazard Phase wrote:If you say you are done playing hazards and your opponent plays a resource before the movement/hazard phase ends, you may then resume playing hazards, assuming you have not yet reached the hazard limit.
The bolded portion is the point when the corruption checks occur; note that this allows a hazard player to play hazards if the resource player uses resources to affect the corruption checks.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
miguel
Ex NetRep
Posts: 705
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:21 am

Now just to be clear (bold is mine):
CRF: Card Errata and Rulings: Lure of Nature wrote:The corruption checks caused by Lure of Nature happen at the end of the afflicted character's movement/hazard phase. Of course, the character's player can play resources to modify the corruption checks. The hazard player is allowed to play hazards in response, if the hazard player has enough hazard limit remaining. Hazards so played must directly affect the corruption checks caused by Lure of Nature. The hazard player can play no other hazards, no creature, no new corruption cards, etc.
------------------------------------
Thorsten the Traveller wrote:I'm making the errata files for gccg, and it would be preferable to have the same text on both Lures (except for the Orcs/RW part), not different versions of the same card. Any help on a clearer formulation of exactly what the erratum intends is appreciated.
You absolutely should use the exact same text on both Lure of Nature cards, with Orcs/RW stuff and all. The latest English print is always the official version, and should be used for all cards with the same name. Note that this should remove the confusion you had about the first CRF errata you quoted (it does not apply because the wording referred to only exists in an early print of the card).
User avatar
Thorsten the Traveller
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 1766
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

Ok both versions the same. But am I to assume the mele version has incorporated the erratum then? Cause it is still possible to substitute the proposed phrase in the mele version. I got no clue whether the erratum was issued before or after mele came out.

Either way, can you clarify me what the whole point of substituting "at the end of m/h phase" with "after all hazards have been played" actually is? Timing issue with other resources played at end of m/h phase?

While we're at it, Challenge Deck versions are even of later date, should those take preference then?
e.g Lucky Search has a whole different text order than the erratum proposes.
The CD version of Rescue Prisoners has a weird sentence added: "If no characters at the site are untapped after the attack, discard Rescue Prisoners..."
Original version doesn't have this bolded part, and erratum doesn't mention it. Seems weird, cause opponent might have untapped characters at the site...
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.
User avatar
miguel
Ex NetRep
Posts: 705
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:21 am

Challenge Deck (CH) versions of cards, when being the last English print, are the official versions yes. That doesn't mean they are perfect, and may of course still need some clarification.

Sorry I can't clarify the CRF entry, it really doesn't make much sense today.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”