Gnaw with Words

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Gnaw with Words wrote:Tap a sage if another sage in his company or at his current site or at his new site. Alternatively, tap a diplomat if another diplomat is in his company or at his current site or at his new site. 'Small comfort will those two have in their companionship: they will gnaw one another with words. ...If Wormtongue ever comes out of Orthanc alive, it will be more than he deserves.'-LotRIII
May be a sage/diplomat hazard agent target of this card?
May be a sage/diplomat hazard agent condition of this card?

If no, why no?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

I've always read it as usable with Agents, or even with your own company if at the same site as an opponent's. It's a hazard; just about anything can be a condition for a hazard, even though the target must be in the current company.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

I agree that target cannot be in other company.
But why it must be in current company?
There are legal targets of other hazards, that does not belong to any company, like factions.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Balrog Player Turn Summary (The One That Says RWs Can Move To Non-Darkhaven Sites Without A Mode Card) wrote:Hazards may not be played that target another company or an entity associated with another company.
That's the actual rule, but it does not say that hazards have to target the current company. It took me a while to find it, which is probably why most people misinterpret the rule (myself included). Since a hazard agent is not another company or an entity associated with another company, it may indeed be targeted by Gnaw With Words.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”