Rescue Prisoners

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
Post Reply
traemyn
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 8:32 pm

Rescue Prisoners

Post by traemyn »

I am looking through the Alatar Challenge deck and Rescue Prisoners seems like a bad card due to its restrictions.

List of each (let me know if I am wrong)

1. Dark-hold/ shadow-hold that is tapped(!)
2. Auto attack, easy but can opponent play a card to modify it?
3. The wording is confusing. Do I need to tap a hero during the actual attack?
4. Hero can't untap until stored. Does this prevent Cram from working (I assume yes)?

I would love to get some veteran player thoughts/comments on this card.

Thanks

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3268
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Rescue Prisoners

Post by Konrad Klar »

1. "that is tapped" may be advantage of the card.
This means that a company may play Rescue Prisoners after playing a resource that taps the site, in the same, or in next site phase.

2. If you mean the Spider attack specified on the card, it is not an automatic-attack. It can be modified by effects of resources, or hazards.
However at the point when RP is being played there is no condition to reveal on-guard hazard.

3. After attack.

4. Make it ineffectual.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
kober
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Ottawa, ON

Re: Rescue Prisoners

Post by kober »

Rescue Prisoners wrote:Playable at an already tapped [-me_dh-] or [-me_sh-] during the site phase. The company faces a spider attack (2 strikes with 7 prowess). If no characters are untapped after the attack, discard Rescue Prisoners. Otherwise, you may tap 1 character in the company and put Rescue Prisoners under his control. That character may not untap until Rescue Prisoners is stored at a [-me_ha-], [-me_bh-], or [-me_fh-] during his organization phase. You receive the marshalling points for this card only when it is stored. Cannot be duplicated at a given site.
What is the spider attack keyed to? Is it keyed to the site?

User avatar
Theo
Posts: 1002
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Re: Rescue Prisoners

Post by Theo »

CRF wrote:Attacks created by events are not keyed to anything unless specifically stated as being keyed to something on the card.
It is not our part here to take thought only for a season, or for a few lives of Men, or for a passing age of the world.
One [online community] with hammer and chisel might mar more than they make... Cautious skill!

User avatar
kober
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Ottawa, ON

Re: Rescue Prisoners

Post by kober »

Thanks!

Now, this might not be the place for the following question, since Protecting Their Domain is a Dream Card, but would the Rescue Prisoner's spiders receive +2 prowess from PTD? The spiders are not keyed to anything, but is "an attack keyed to a site" synonymous with "an attack at a site" ?
Protecting Their Domain wrote:All creature attacks keyed to Wilderness [W] or Jungle [J] receive -1 prowess. All Animal, Spider, and Awakened Plant attacks receive +1 prowess (+2 prowess if not at a site). Discard if an Animal, Spider, or Awakened Plant attack is defeated. Cannot be duplicated.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3268
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Rescue Prisoners

Post by Konrad Klar »

Against the Shadow: Drughu
Resource: Short-event

Playable on a hero company during your organization phase if you discard a ranger character from your hand. All characters in the company this turn receive +2 prowess against attacks keyed to [-me_wi-] and during combat at [-me_rl-] . "Each company was guided by a wild woodman...the thickets offered to the Riders their last hope of cover before they went into open battle."-LotRV
So combat may be considered as being proceeded at site, Presumably also attack of company in CvCC is considered as being proceeded at site, although not keyed to anything.

So no. The Rescue Prisoner's spiders did not receive +2 prowess from PTD.
The Rescue Prisoner's spiders attack is not keyed to anything, but is being proceeded at site.
CRF, Turn Sequence, Movement/Hazard Phase, Playing Hazards wrote:A creature "played at" a site is the same as being "keyed to" the site.
If by "not at a site" the author of Protecting Their Domain did mean "not played at site"/"not keyed at site" then he failed to express it correctly. Instead he wrote something that may be interpreted as "not being proceeded at site".
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”