Fireworks on Minion sites?

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Alter Tuk
Ex Council Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:20 pm
Location: Germany

Fireworks
Ritual Playable on an untapped sage at a Borderhold [-me_bh-] or Freehold [-me_fh-]. Tap sage. Make a roll and add the mind of the sage (+10 if a wizard), if the result is greater than 12 - the site untaps. The next time the sage would otherwise become untapped make him tapped instead and discard this card.
Is it playable on Minion sites ( [-me_fh-] [-me_bh-] )?
[url=http://gccg.sourceforge.net/]Come to GCCG or die a lonely death.[/url]
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

By Fallen Wizard no. It makes an operation on a specified site, so - in short - it targets the site.

For Fallen Wizard a hero resource event cannot target/affect a minion resoure/site. And vice-versa.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Alter Tuk
Ex Council Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:20 pm
Location: Germany

The trick is to play it with the help of Double Dealing. :D
Double Dealing
Playable on a site.
If the site is a minion site, you may play appropriate hero ressources there. [...]
[url=http://gccg.sourceforge.net/]Come to GCCG or die a lonely death.[/url]
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Ach...
That was a trick question....
My incompetence has been detected. :oops:
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Sauron
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 550
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 3:27 pm

Alter Tuk wrote:
Fireworks
Ritual Playable on an untapped sage at a Borderhold [-me_bh-] or Freehold [-me_fh-]. Tap sage. Make a roll and add the mind of the sage (+10 if a wizard), if the result is greater than 12 - the site untaps. The next time the sage would otherwise become untapped make him tapped instead and discard this card.
Is it playable on Minion sites ( [-me_fh-] [-me_bh-] )?
CRF: Rulings by Term: Section T: Subsection Target:
A target is an entity that an action is played out through. Enitities are only targets of an action if the action specifies those entities by number and type. Note that "the foo" counts as specifying one "foo."

I would say fireworks doesn't target the site, but actually targets the sage. It's "an untapped sage" which specifies number (an = 1) and type (untapped sage at X/Y). Since it's not targeting the site, I would say you could use it in a FW deck to untap a minion site.

It doesn't say playable on a tapped Borderhold or Freehold . . . it says playable on a sage at blah blah blah.

Thoughts? Discuss.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

There's no rule that says a card can only have one target, is there?

On the other hand, without a clear definition of what an Action is (something sorely lacking in this game), your interpretation may be entirely valid.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
marcos
Ex Council Member
Posts: 2032
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Córdoba, Argentina

i think brian makes some sense here
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Two simple questions:
- can Fireworks be played without [-me_fh-] , or [-me_bh-] ?
- is [-me_fh-] , or [-me_bh-] in question unspecified (e.g some [-me_fh-] , or [-me_bh-], that may be, but also may be not in play, when effect of the card resolves)?

If answers for both questions are negative, then what more is needed to consider the [-me_fh-] , or [-me_bh-] a target?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Sauron
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 550
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 3:27 pm

Konrad Klar wrote:Two simple questions:
- can Fireworks be played without [-me_fh-] , or [-me_bh-] ?
- is [-me_fh-] , or [-me_bh-] in question unspecified (e.g some [-me_fh-] , or [-me_bh-], that may be, but also may be not in play, when effect of the card resolves)?

If answers for both questions are negative, then what more is needed to consider the [-me_fh-] , or [-me_bh-] a target?
CRF: Rulings by Term: Section T: Subsection Target:
A target is an entity that an action is played out through. Enitities are only targets of an action if the action specifies those entities by number and type. Note that "the foo" counts as specifying one "foo."

Are you trying to say that Fireworks is played out through the [-me_fh-] [-me_bh-] and not through the sage? Sorry I don't quite understand what you're trying to say.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Sauron wrote:Are you trying to say that Fireworks is played out through the [-me_fh-] [-me_bh-] and not through the sage? Sorry I don't quite understand what you're trying to say.
Short answer:
I'm trying to say that Fireworks is played out through the [-me_fh-], or [-me_bh-] and through the sage.

Long answer:
Some objects may be affected, or required by action of a card but they are not targets of the card.

For example all hazard environment cards in play are discarded when Gates of Morning resolves, but GoM does not specify them and they are not required to play GoM*.

Aliance of Free Peoples requires at least one of each hero Dwarf, hero Elf, hero Man faction, but does not specify them. So if after declaration of the card, the hero Hillmen will be discarded, but hero Southrons is in play, the card will resolve. An affected, required factions are not specified and are not targets.

The Will of Sauron requires a Doors of Night in play, but it does not specify a copy of Doors of Night, so if Doors of Night will be discarded by Twilight in response to The Will of Sauron, but second copy will be played The Will of Sauron can resolve. Doors of Night in play is required by The Will of Sauron, but is not the target of The Will of Sauron.

[-me_fh-], or [-me_bh-] mentioned in Fireworks text is the [-me_fh-], or [-me_bh-] where the sage's company stays. So it is unambiguously specified - it may not by any other [-me_fh-], or [-me_bh-], e.g. choosen after declaration of card. And it is required to play Fireworks - it cannot be played on sage in company at [-me_sh-] for example.

*) If object (entity) is target it must be in play or declared when action is being declared.
Annotation 8: An action that requires a target is considered to have the active
condition that the target be in play when the action is declared and when it is resolved.
An action may not be declared if its target is not in play. However, dice-rolling actions
may always be targeted by other actions declared later in the same chain of effects.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Shapeshifter
Ex Council Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

A hero resource event card may not target/affect a minion site card or a minion resource card.
A minion resource event card may not target/affect a hero site card or a hero resource card.
There is a difference between target and affect, is there? If Fireworks doesn't target the site (I'm not sure about this) it will at least affect the site by untapping it. That`s my understanding.

P.S.: A similar example as Fireworks might be Secrets of their Forging.
Sage only. Playable on a sage during the site phase at a site where information is playable if a character in his company has a gold ring item. Tap the sage and the site. You may replace the gold ring with a special item ring from your hand (except for The One Ring) for which the gold ring could be normally be tested. Discard the gold ring item.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

If Fireworks would not target a site (I'm sure that it does target a site), then it just would not untap a minion site. It would be playable, but only usable to tap a target sage and place the card on him.

P.S.
(I'm sure that) Secrets of their Forging has a three targets: a sage, a site, and a gold ring.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Alter Tuk
Ex Council Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:20 pm
Location: Germany

To clear it up:

You cant play Fireworks on minion sites because it affects the site. Thanks Shapeshifter.

And here is the NetRep answer that noone pulled so far:
CRF 90
As FW player, can Fireworks be played on a minion site (or is it considered to target the site)?

*** The card produces an effect on the site, therefore it has to target the site. Thus, you cannot play Fireworks at/on a minion site.

Chad Martin, 04/11/15
[url=http://gccg.sourceforge.net/]Come to GCCG or die a lonely death.[/url]
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

A mere fact that a card would affect some resources/sites does not prevent that card from being played, if the resource/site of opposite alignment is in play but is not a target. FW player can play Rumor of The One if he has hero ring items; they just will not be affected.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”