Page 1 of 1
Fireworks on Minion sites?
Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:57 pm
by Alter Tuk
Fireworks
Ritual Playable on an untapped sage at a Borderhold
or Freehold
. Tap sage. Make a roll and add the mind of the sage (+10 if a wizard), if the result is greater than 12 - the site untaps. The next time the sage would otherwise become untapped make him tapped instead and discard this card.
Is it playable on Minion sites (
![Border Hold [-me_bh-]](./images/smilies/me_bh.png)
)?
Re: Fireworks on Minion sites?
Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:42 pm
by Konrad Klar
By Fallen Wizard no. It makes an operation on a specified site, so - in short - it targets the site.
For Fallen Wizard a hero resource event cannot target/affect a minion resoure/site. And vice-versa.
Re: Fireworks on Minion sites?
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 11:12 am
by Alter Tuk
The trick is to play it with the help of Double Dealing.
Double Dealing
Playable on a site. If the site is a minion site, you may play appropriate hero ressources there. [...]
Re: Fireworks on Minion sites?
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 12:01 pm
by Konrad Klar
Ach...
That was a trick question....
My incompetence has been detected.

Re: Fireworks on Minion sites?
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:37 pm
by Sauron
Alter Tuk wrote:Fireworks
Ritual Playable on an untapped sage at a Borderhold
or Freehold
. Tap sage. Make a roll and add the mind of the sage (+10 if a wizard), if the result is greater than 12 - the site untaps. The next time the sage would otherwise become untapped make him tapped instead and discard this card.
Is it playable on Minion sites (
![Border Hold [-me_bh-]](./images/smilies/me_bh.png)
)?
CRF: Rulings by Term: Section T: Subsection Target:
A target is an entity that an action is played out through. Enitities are only targets of an action if the action specifies those entities by number and type. Note that "the foo" counts as specifying one "foo."
I would say fireworks doesn't target the site, but actually targets the sage. It's "an untapped sage" which specifies number (an = 1) and type (untapped sage at X/Y). Since it's not targeting the site, I would say you could use it in a FW deck to untap a minion site.
It doesn't say playable on a tapped Borderhold or Freehold . . . it says playable on a sage at blah blah blah.
Thoughts? Discuss.
Re: Fireworks on Minion sites?
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:42 pm
by Bandobras Took
There's no rule that says a card can only have one target, is there?
On the other hand, without a clear definition of what an Action is (something sorely lacking in this game), your interpretation may be entirely valid.
Re: Fireworks on Minion sites?
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:46 pm
by marcos
i think brian makes some sense here
Re: Fireworks on Minion sites?
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:48 pm
by Konrad Klar
Two simple questions:
- can Fireworks be played without
![Free Hold [-me_fh-]](./images/smilies/me_fh.png)
, or
![Border Hold [-me_bh-]](./images/smilies/me_bh.png)
?
- is
![Free Hold [-me_fh-]](./images/smilies/me_fh.png)
, or
![Border Hold [-me_bh-]](./images/smilies/me_bh.png)
in question unspecified (e.g some
![Free Hold [-me_fh-]](./images/smilies/me_fh.png)
, or
![Border Hold [-me_bh-]](./images/smilies/me_bh.png)
, that may be, but also may be not in play, when effect of the card resolves)?
If answers for both questions are negative, then what more is needed to consider the
![Free Hold [-me_fh-]](./images/smilies/me_fh.png)
, or
![Border Hold [-me_bh-]](./images/smilies/me_bh.png)
a target?
Re: Fireworks on Minion sites?
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 5:14 pm
by Sauron
Konrad Klar wrote:Two simple questions:
- can Fireworks be played without
![Free Hold [-me_fh-]](./images/smilies/me_fh.png)
, or
![Border Hold [-me_bh-]](./images/smilies/me_bh.png)
?
- is
![Free Hold [-me_fh-]](./images/smilies/me_fh.png)
, or
![Border Hold [-me_bh-]](./images/smilies/me_bh.png)
in question unspecified (e.g some
![Free Hold [-me_fh-]](./images/smilies/me_fh.png)
, or
![Border Hold [-me_bh-]](./images/smilies/me_bh.png)
, that may be, but also may be not in play, when effect of the card resolves)?
If answers for both questions are negative, then what more is needed to consider the
![Free Hold [-me_fh-]](./images/smilies/me_fh.png)
, or
![Border Hold [-me_bh-]](./images/smilies/me_bh.png)
a target?
CRF: Rulings by Term: Section T: Subsection Target:
A target is an entity that an action is played out through. Enitities are only targets of an action if the action specifies those entities by number and type. Note that "the foo" counts as specifying one "foo."
Are you trying to say that Fireworks is played out through the
![Border Hold [-me_bh-]](./images/smilies/me_bh.png)
and not through the sage? Sorry I don't quite understand what you're trying to say.
Re: Fireworks on Minion sites?
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:30 pm
by Konrad Klar
Sauron wrote:Are you trying to say that Fireworks is played out through the
![Border Hold [-me_bh-]](./images/smilies/me_bh.png)
and not through the sage? Sorry I don't quite understand what you're trying to say.
Short answer:
I'm trying to say that Fireworks is played out through the
![Free Hold [-me_fh-]](./images/smilies/me_fh.png)
, or
![Border Hold [-me_bh-]](./images/smilies/me_bh.png)
and through the sage.
Long answer:
Some objects may be affected, or required by action of a card but they are not targets of the card.
For example all hazard environment cards in play are discarded when Gates of Morning resolves, but GoM does not specify them and they are not required to play GoM*.
Aliance of Free Peoples requires at least one of each hero Dwarf, hero Elf, hero Man faction, but does not specify them. So if after declaration of the card, the hero Hillmen will be discarded, but hero Southrons is in play, the card will resolve. An affected, required factions are not specified and are not targets.
The Will of Sauron requires a Doors of Night in play, but it does not specify a copy of Doors of Night, so if Doors of Night will be discarded by Twilight in response to The Will of Sauron, but second copy will be played The Will of Sauron can resolve. Doors of Night in play is required by The Will of Sauron, but is not the target of The Will of Sauron.
![Free Hold [-me_fh-]](./images/smilies/me_fh.png)
, or
![Border Hold [-me_bh-]](./images/smilies/me_bh.png)
mentioned in Fireworks text is the
![Free Hold [-me_fh-]](./images/smilies/me_fh.png)
, or
![Border Hold [-me_bh-]](./images/smilies/me_bh.png)
where the sage's company stays. So it is unambiguously specified - it may not by any other
![Free Hold [-me_fh-]](./images/smilies/me_fh.png)
, or
![Border Hold [-me_bh-]](./images/smilies/me_bh.png)
, e.g. choosen after declaration of card. And it is required to play Fireworks - it cannot be played on sage in company at
![Shadow Hold [-me_sh-]](./images/smilies/me_sh.png)
for example.
*) If object (entity) is target it must be in play or declared when action is being declared.
Annotation 8: An action that requires a target is considered to have the active
condition that the target be in play when the action is declared and when it is resolved.
An action may not be declared if its target is not in play. However, dice-rolling actions
may always be targeted by other actions declared later in the same chain of effects.
Re: Fireworks on Minion sites?
Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 9:10 pm
by Shapeshifter
A hero resource event card may not target/affect a minion site card or a minion resource card.
A minion resource event card may not target/affect a hero site card or a hero resource card.
There is a difference between target and affect, is there? If
Fireworks doesn't target the site (I'm not sure about this) it will at least affect the site by untapping it. That`s my understanding.
P.S.: A similar example as
Fireworks might be
Secrets of their Forging.
Sage only. Playable on a sage during the site phase at a site where information is playable if a character in his company has a gold ring item. Tap the sage and the site. You may replace the gold ring with a special item ring from your hand (except for The One Ring) for which the gold ring could be normally be tested. Discard the gold ring item.
Re: Fireworks on Minion sites?
Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:39 am
by Konrad Klar
If Fireworks would not target a site (I'm sure that it does target a site), then it just would not untap a minion site. It would be playable, but only usable to tap a target sage and place the card on him.
P.S.
(I'm sure that) Secrets of their Forging has a three targets: a sage, a site, and a gold ring.
Re: Fireworks on Minion sites?
Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 5:26 pm
by Alter Tuk
To clear it up:
You cant play Fireworks on minion sites because it
affects the site. Thanks Shapeshifter.
And here is the NetRep answer that noone pulled so far:
CRF 90
As FW player, can Fireworks be played on a minion site (or is it considered to target the site)?
*** The card produces an effect on the site, therefore it has to target the site. Thus, you cannot play Fireworks at/on a minion site.
Chad Martin, 04/11/15
Re: Fireworks on Minion sites?
Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 6:25 pm
by Konrad Klar
A mere fact that a card would affect some resources/sites does not prevent that card from being played, if the resource/site of opposite alignment is in play but is not a target. FW player can play Rumor of The One if he has hero ring items; they just will not be affected.