Waybread

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Darksatin
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 6:14 pm
Location: Chalon sur Saône, France

Waybread : Only playable at Lórien. Discard to untap bearer or bearer and one other character in his company. Alternatively, discard during organization phase to play an additional region card.

Sam is wearing Waybread, but he is wounded. He is in the same company than Gandalf, who his tapped.
I want to untap Gandalf. Can I discard Waybread to untap him, even if I can not untap Sam ?
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

My first hunch is to say yes; so long as at least part of the item's effect can be applied, you can discard it for that effect.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
dirhaval
Posts: 802
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 5:39 am

I agree with your hunch based on the idea of anything with a card must take effect for it to be played.
Besides, I cannot imagine Sam keeping food away from Gandalf when Gandalf needs it.

"Geez Gandalf. I really like for you to Warm Now Be Heart of Limb for me due to this spider bite, but
you first need this Waybread the nice Lady gave me to sing a song. You know, us hobbits like second breakfasts.
So you go and get some Cram from your bear friend if you want to help me."
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Bandobras Took wrote:My first hunch is to say yes; so long as at least part of the item's effect can be applied, you can discard it for that effect.
I agree with the conclusion. I disagree with the justification.

My justifiaction:
Targets do not need to be able to perform an operation caused by actions.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”