Manifestations canceling

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
rezwits
Ex Council Member
Posts: 563
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 4:07 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

I am reading thru the Universal Rules.pdf, but I trying to figure out if this rule applies to just Ringwraiths and/or Avatars, or All Characters/Avatars.

Here is the rule:

If your avatar is a Ringwraith, you may bring him into play at his Home Site or Minas Morgul. Discard any corresponding Nazgûl hazard manifestation. (MELE, 7

If my opponent plays Master of the House as a permanent-event, can I bring in Elrond as a Character, discarding Master of the House?

If my opponent plays Alatar the Hunter as a permanent-event, can I bring in Alatar as my Avatar, discarding Alatar the Hunter?

If my opponent plays Balrog of Moria as a permanent-event, can I bring in The Balrog (MEBA), removing Balrog of Moria?

etc blah yada gccg

Thanks again
As of 4/3/21 4:03:21
my current rulings foundation is based on:
All of the rules and rulings found in these PDFs at:
https://cardnum.net/rules
If you have other collected rulings that are not
listed please feel free to email them or PM me...
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

This rule applies only to Ringwraiths and Nazguls.
It is because concept of Ringwraith characters has been introduced later than Nazgul creatures/permanent-events.
ICE had decided that using Nazguls to prevent minion player from playing his avatar would be too abusive.

If it comes to Wizards: appropriate mechanics of discarding their manifestation is included in texts of these manifestation cards. And if Fallen Wizards player declares that he plays as specific Wizard, a hero opponent cannot play that Wizard as his avatar.

There is also separate set of rules for manifestation of Dragons. Multiple manifestation of the same Dargon may be in play at the same time and all are removed from game when one of them is eliminated and then further manifestations of the same Dragon may not be played.

Against Balrog player his opponent cannot play cartain cards that currently are all existing Balrog manifestations. By rules in Balrog manual.

For manifestations in general there is rule: manifestation currently in play takes a precedence. As long it is in play, no other manifestation of that card may be played. Cards in out-of-play pile and in marshaling points pile counts as being in play for purpose of uniquess.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
rezwits
Ex Council Member
Posts: 563
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 4:07 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

Damn I am so stupid. Brilliant, Smart, Witty, Talented, but dumb.

It's says right on the Gandalf The White Rider card MEAS
As of 4/3/21 4:03:21
my current rulings foundation is based on:
All of the rules and rulings found in these PDFs at:
https://cardnum.net/rules
If you have other collected rulings that are not
listed please feel free to email them or PM me...
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”