Here Is a Snake!: when it is too late to play this card?

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Here Is a Snake! wrote:Playable on a company during its movement/hazard phase after cards have been drawn. Opponent may reveal to you any number of hazards from his hand. He may only play hazards he revealed to you (including on-guard cards) for the remainder of target company's movement/hazard phase. Alternatively, a face-down agent is tapped and revealed.
CRF, Turn Sequence, Movement/Hazard Phase, General wrote:Annotation 25b: Players drawing cards when a new site is revealed is synonymous
with the resolution of the new site being revealed. It happens immediately, not in the
following chain of effects.
According to Annotation 25b it is not possible to declare anything not exceptional (like The Reach of Ulmo) before eventual drawing a cards for movement will be made.
Any valid declaration in M/H phase must be made after this point. So is "Playable on a company during its movement/hazard phase after cards have been drawn." completely redundant with Annotation 25b, thus meaningless? Or meaning of this text is that Here Is a Snake! may not be played for non-moving companies (or moving companies under effect od Smaug at Home)? Or something else?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

The wording does prohibit playing it if no cards have been drawn. My hunch is that it's a redundancy, but we have to go with what's written.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Consider also special text of cards like minion Himring. Literally it would not be in force if overt company begin moving to minion Himring already in play (site is not revealed).
Either: it may be very imprecise reference to beginnnig of M/H phase, or literal references to revealing a site card (Himring), or act of drawing a cards for movement (Here Is a Snake!).*
Himring wrote:Nearest Darkhaven: Geann a-Lisch Playable: Items (minor, major) Automatic-attacks: Undead - 1 strike with 8 prowess; each character wounded must make a corruption check modified by -2 Special: An overt company must tap an untapped character (if available) if this site is revealed as its new site.
*) Thanks for hint with A Chance Meeting (mentioned recently by you here).
Similar situation: either this card refer specifically to hobbits, or generally to characters that can be brought into play only at their home sites. :)
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”