Multiple copies of the same site-card
Posted: Mon May 05, 2014 4:24 pm
Are multiple copies of the same site card truly the same site or each card should be treated individually as a different site?
Was this problem straightened out or do the old digests still stand?
???
All of these rulings and various discussions on the forums (Deep Mines/Ancient Deep-Hold connectivity, or more recent Ancient Deep-Hold to name just a couple), as well as the well known haven-untapping-trick or the fact that River's effect "sticks" to a copy of a site card and not all copies of it, consistently lead me to an interpretation that for all purposes multiple copies of the same site card (played by the same player) count as separate, different sites actually. Is it really so, or did it got changed sometime in the past?
Was this problem straightened out or do the old digests still stand?
Rulings Digest #64, February 23, 2004
Say I have Hall of Fire (or Fortress of the Towers, or whatever) on a tapped haven site. Now, I want to move another company to an untapped copy of that site, then combine the companies at the untapped version. I know I can do that much. However, if I do this, will I lose the Hall of Fire and cards like it?
*** Yes. Playing a card on a copy of a haven is not the same as playing the card on all copies of the haven.
Rulings Digest #67, March 29, 2004
*** A fallen-wizard player gets the stage point for each copy of Rhosgobel and/or Deep Mines he has in play.
Rulings Digest #82, September 06, 2004
If I play a new character at a haven, can I split it into a different haven site (even if there are already characters at these haven)? Or is there a rule that you must join the other fellowship during site phase etc?! My intension is to have multiple copies of Rhosgobel out, that I can get every single stage point from each haven. Is that right?
*** You can only bring a new copy of a haven into play if a new company is moved to or played at that haven. You can, therefore, bring a new character into play at a new copy of the haven, and leave him there as a separate company. You can use this to get a lot of Rhosgobel stage points.
Rulings Digest #84, September 20, 2004
I´m pretty sure that there is a ruling, that you can´t move from a protected wizard haven to several Deep Mines. Am I wrong?
*** You are not wrong, but if you have more than one copy of Rhosgobel in play, each of them can have an associated Deep Mines site.
???
All of these rulings and various discussions on the forums (Deep Mines/Ancient Deep-Hold connectivity, or more recent Ancient Deep-Hold to name just a couple), as well as the well known haven-untapping-trick or the fact that River's effect "sticks" to a copy of a site card and not all copies of it, consistently lead me to an interpretation that for all purposes multiple copies of the same site card (played by the same player) count as separate, different sites actually. Is it really so, or did it got changed sometime in the past?