Star of High Hope Duplication?

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Garriath
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 7:14 pm

Star of High Hope Duplication?

Post by Garriath »

Howdy, all,

An idea came to my head for a new deck, and it seems a little too good to be true, so I'd like to know if it's as legal as I think it is.

Accepting that:
-Unlike Sun, Star of High Hope can be duplicated
-No erratum that I can find suggests that Echo of All Joy can't be duplicated on multiple copies of a single card

M deck would include 3 copies of Star of High Hope and 3 copies of Echo of all Joy, with the aim of keeping as many Stars of High Hope in play as possible (with a Dunadan-Elf focused company.) Assuming the player can keep Doors of Night out of play, and Gates of Morning in, if he manages to get all three Stars of High Hope in, then Anborn and Damrod become as powerful as Glorfindel, Aragorn can comfortably face Nazgul, and Glorfindel defaults to, um, 14 prowess, where he can eat Balrogs and dragons without even needing to tap. Add in a few fellowships, and...

Granted, this is all dependent on preventing your enemy from playing Doors of Night, but if you're both Gates of Morning-focused, that wouldn't even be an issue. Adding in a couple of Crowns of Flowers would make the build even safer.

What I'm wondering is, well, is this legal? Anything that can get a character to 14 prowess stinks heavily of cheese to me, but I can't quite figure why it wouldn't work...

Thanks in advance!

User avatar
Shapeshifter
Posts: 569
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Star of High Hope Duplication?

Post by Shapeshifter »

It's all legal. A single Doors and all is gone at once, though.

Muzgash
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:24 am

Re: Star of High Hope Duplication?

Post by Muzgash »

Also, resource long-events, unfortunately, can only be played during the long-events phase. That limits their utility considerably.

User avatar
Mordakai
Posts: 244
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:38 am

Re: Star of High Hope Duplication?

Post by Mordakai »

You can only play one each turn, but it's perfectly legal. I've seen that kind of bould but with A Short Rest instead. Quite cheesy, may I add... :x but effective
C'mon, not the Elves of Lindon AGAIN...

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2995
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Star of High Hope Duplication?

Post by Bandobras Took »

Mordakai wrote:You can only play one each turn
Why is that?
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

User avatar
Mordakai
Posts: 244
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:38 am

Re: Star of High Hope Duplication?

Post by Mordakai »

Bandobras Took wrote:
Mordakai wrote:You can only play one each turn
Why is that?
As far as I know, only one long event resource can be played during the long-event phase... :roll:

hmmm, interesting, In the spanish ruleset i have with me it says, not only that, but only one long-event hazard per m/h phase also... never heard about that before, I'll check the english version of the ruleset
C'mon, not the Elves of Lindon AGAIN...

User avatar
Mordakai
Posts: 244
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:38 am

Re: Star of High Hope Duplication?

Post by Mordakai »

Mordakai wrote:
Bandobras Took wrote:
Mordakai wrote:You can only play one each turn
Why is that?
As far as I know, only one long event resource can be played during the long-event phase... :roll:

hmmm, interesting, In the spanish ruleset i have with me it says, not only that, but only one long-event hazard per m/h phase also... never heard about that before, I'll check the english version of the ruleset
Hmmm again, this is what I found:

You may only play a resource long-event during your long-event phase. [...]
You may only play a hazard long-event during your opponent’s movement/hazard phase. [...]


So I supose the guy that translated it thought that "a" equals to "one", but this other quote of the ruleset makes me think that it is not the correct sense of that phrase:

Long-event Phase
First, remove all of your resource long-events in play.
Then, you may play any new resource long-event cards.
Finally, remove all of your opponent’s hazard long-events.


So if I add this two quotes to your direct and mercyless Why is that?, I'm now quite convinced that you can play as many long-event resources as you want in the long-event phase :lol: :lol:

Thanks for the tip, this kind of mistranslations can lead to very stablished wrong playing, you know...
C'mon, not the Elves of Lindon AGAIN...

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2995
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Star of High Hope Duplication?

Post by Bandobras Took »

That explains it, all right. :)
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

marcos
Posts: 2010
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Córdoba, Argentina

Re: Star of High Hope Duplication?

Post by marcos »

that kind of deck is very popular, but it has a LOT of weak points.

1- DoN + twilight
2- Seized by terror (discards fellowships, which then makes you vulnerable to corruption)
3- Many sorrows befall (discards long events)
4- Diminish and depart + call of home/ muster disperses.

As you can see most of its weak spots aren't creature based, so having a lot of prowess isn't always as great as it might seem...
Anyways, its one of my favorite hero strategies :lol:

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”