Elf-song

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Mordakai
Council Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:38 am

Well, a tricky one (at least for me):

Elf-song in play:

Image

My character is peacefully sitting at Lorien and nasty Radagast comes with his 10 DI free and tries to influence him away. Dice are rolled and he succeeds. Well, now what? Elf-song clearly specifies that no character can be discarded for any reason. As I should discard my character and eventually he can play another copy of it... :roll:
C'mon, not the Elves of Lindon AGAIN...
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Elf-song clearly specifies that no character can be discarded for any reason.
And this is just one of such reasons:
[...] nasty Radagast comes with his 10 DI free and tries to influence him away. Dice are rolled and he succeeds.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Mordakai
Council Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:38 am

I thought the same, that you simply cannot influence him, but just looking for a second opinion on this issue. Thanks mate.
C'mon, not the Elves of Lindon AGAIN...
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Related question: even though the character is not discarded as a result of the influence check, is the influence check still considered successful?
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Mordakai
Council Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:38 am

What would be the importance, apart from Lure of Power? Anything else can be triggered?
C'mon, not the Elves of Lindon AGAIN...
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Lidless Eye wrote:If the modified result is greater than the target's mind attribute, the target character card and all of the non-follower cards he controls are discarded. Otherwise, nothing happens.
If someone read "and all of the non-follower cards he controls are discarded" as separate action and not as consequence of discarding character* then there would be other consequences (half-done escape from company from thematical point of view).

To the Bandobras question:
CRF, Rulins by Term, Corruption wrote:If an effect is in play that prevents a character from being discarded, the character is
not considered to fail his corruption check if a result is achieved that would discard
him. A Wizard would not be eliminated and his player would not lose the game.
There is no counterpart applicable to influence attempts.

*) The logic behind the statement that canceling of an attack is separate action form Farmer Maggot, but not result of absence of attacked company at site where the attack has been initiated.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”