+5 GI for minions

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Grishnakh
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 6:08 pm

+5 GI for minions

Post by Grishnakh »

Yesterday I was in a game minion vs. minion.
I played call of home against a minion charakter.
The opponent had 4 free GI.
He said there are always +5 GI for every minion player not useable for charakters.
So he counted +9 GI.

But the LE rules said: All influence checks are modified by -5; i.e., it is harder for evil characters to influence the Free People and vice versa.
That means to me, there are a -5 modifier in influence actions between Wizards and Minions.
And not between Minions or against hazards like call of home?!

What's the right way to play now?

Grishnakh [-me_eye-]
Cheers,
Heiko / Grishnakh

Muad'Dib
Posts: 346
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:41 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

Re: +5 GI for minions

Post by Muad'Dib »

Minion/Balrog have always +5 to GI which he cant use to control characters. But can use it when opponent plays cards like Call of Home or Muster Disperses.

Also there is s -5 to influence attempt when you try to influence your opponent characters, factions, allies etc. For example Radagast tries to get rid off Orcs of Dol Guldur. Or minion and hero play both One Ring decks. One of them finds it earlier and opponent wants to influence the item (had once this situation:P).
IMustNotFear.FearIsTheMind-Killer.FearIsTheLittle-death ThatBringsTotalObliteration.IWillFaceMyFear.
IWillPermitItToPassOverMeAndThroughMe.
AndWhenItHasGonePast,IWillTurnTheInnerEyeToSeeItsPath.
WhereTheFearHasGoneThereWillBeNothing. OnlyIWillRemain.

User avatar
Shapeshifter
Posts: 567
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: AW: +5 GI for minions

Post by Shapeshifter »

That is a tournament rule only.
Council of Lorien tournament policy wrote:General Influence Bonus: Ringwraith/Sauron players have +5 unused general influence at all times. This bonus general influence can never be used to control characters.

Grishnakh
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 6:08 pm

Re: +5 GI for minions

Post by Grishnakh »

ok, than both is right.
"General Influence Bonus: Ringwraith/Sauron players have +5 unused general influence at all times. This bonus general influence can never be used to control characters."
AND
"Also there is -5 to influence attempt when you try to influence something from your opponent" for Wizard- vs. Minion-player and vice versa.

So, Call of Home or Muster Disperses make not much sense against Minions/Balrog
and a Wizard player have always a 10 different to infuence something away from a Minion/Balrog player.

I understand it the right way ?

Grishnakh [-me_eye-]
Cheers,
Heiko / Grishnakh

Muad'Dib
Posts: 346
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:41 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

Re: Odp: +5 GI for minions

Post by Muad'Dib »

Yep, influencing is waste of time but Muster Disperses is not so bad vs minion. Usually minion uses full of his GI, so against Muster Disperses need to roll at least 6. Now think how often you roll 4-5 and you have your answer :)
IMustNotFear.FearIsTheMind-Killer.FearIsTheLittle-death ThatBringsTotalObliteration.IWillFaceMyFear.
IWillPermitItToPassOverMeAndThroughMe.
AndWhenItHasGonePast,IWillTurnTheInnerEyeToSeeItsPath.
WhereTheFearHasGoneThereWillBeNothing. OnlyIWillRemain.

Grishnakh
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 6:08 pm

Re: +5 GI for minions

Post by Grishnakh »

OK, many thanks.
So, I have to change my call of home deck :-)

Cheers,
Grishnakh [-me_gi-]
Cheers,
Heiko / Grishnakh

marcos
Posts: 2010
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Córdoba, Argentina

Re: +5 GI for minions

Post by marcos »

Yesterday I was in a game minion vs. minion.
I played call of home against a minion charakter.
The opponent had 4 free GI.
He said there are always +5 GI for every minion player not useable for charakters.
So he counted +9 GI.
i was that opponent :D

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2995
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: +5 GI for minions

Post by Bandobras Took »

When playing vs. marcos, a good rule of thumb is: He's right. :)
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”