The Balance of Things + Marvels Told

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
kober
Posts: 209
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Ottawa, ON

The Balance of Things is in play. Annalena is holding Glamdring, thus she has 2 CP. Marvels Told has been declared, and Annalena taps to remove TBoT. She must make a CC modified by -2. How many CPs does she have at that moment: 1 or 2?
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Short Answer: The corruption check is made after the event removal effect has been implemented.

Long Answer (in case it matters):
MEBA Rules, Cards With Multiple Actions wrote:If a card specifies that more than one action occurs when the card is itself resolved in a chain of effects, all of these actions are to be resolved in the card's chain of effects uninterrupted and in the order listed on the card. No actions may be declared to occur between these multiple actions. The actions listed on the card are considered to have been declared in the reverse order as they are printed. As an exception, in one of the effects of a card is an attack, cards may be played that cancel the attack, cancel one of the strikes, or that otherwise are playable during the strike sequence.
Marvels Told wrote:Ritual. Tap a sage to force the discard of a hazard non-environment permanent-event or long-event. Sage makes a corruption check modified by -2.
According to the Balrog rule, the actions are declared in the following order:

1) Corruption Check.
2) Event Discard.

Thus, when it resolves, it does so in this order:

1) Event Discard.
2) Corruption Check.

So long as you don't look at them too closely, timing rules work. :)
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
kober
Posts: 209
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Ottawa, ON

Bandobras Took wrote:(in case it matters)
It always does :) Thanks!
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”