Out He Sprang and No Way Forward

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
Kjeld
Posts: 307
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:40 pm

Quick question. The text of Out He Sprang reads, "This region allowance may not be modified by any other effects except A More Evil Hour". Does this mean The Balrog, using Out He Sprang, would be immune to cards such as No Way Forward?
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

That is correct.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
Kjeld
Posts: 307
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:40 pm

Thanks, that's what I thought, but wanted to confirm.
dirhaval
Posts: 802
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 5:39 am

Okay. I will agree with what was said above...but "allowance" to me is a benefit,
so I would think a hazard lowers the regions for Out He Sprang Movement.

Can you image a balrog springing out of the fire only to to jump into the chasm?
Out he sprung...into the abyss far below.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

so I would think a hazard lowers the regions for Out He Sprang Movement.
The hazard that springs to mind is No Way Forward.
No Way Forward wrote:The number of region cards that may be played by a moving company using region movement is reduced by one (by two if Doors of Night is in play) to a minimum of two.
This is an effect that specifically modifies the number of regions you are allowed to play. There is no other valid way to interpret "This region allowance may not be modified by any other effects except A More Evil Hour." Out He Sprang does not care whether the effect in question is resource or hazard.

"Allowance" is not a benefit in this context; it is a permission. The rules allow your avatar to be eliminated by a body check, but that does not necessarily mean that it is in any way beneficial to do so. And there is no rule, so far as I am aware, that states that hazards automatically have superiority over resources. Hazards that do so tend to have such things listed within the card text itself (e.g. Fool's Bane with its "all cases" clause, Foul Tooth Unsheathed).
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”