Page 1 of 1

Out He Sprang and No Way Forward

Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2015 2:48 pm
by Kjeld
Quick question. The text of Out He Sprang reads, "This region allowance may not be modified by any other effects except A More Evil Hour". Does this mean The Balrog, using Out He Sprang, would be immune to cards such as No Way Forward?

Re: Out He Sprang and No Way Forward

Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2015 3:32 pm
by Bandobras Took
That is correct.

Re: Out He Sprang and No Way Forward

Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2015 5:50 pm
by Kjeld
Thanks, that's what I thought, but wanted to confirm.

Re: Out He Sprang and No Way Forward

Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 4:24 am
by dirhaval
Okay. I will agree with what was said above...but "allowance" to me is a benefit,
so I would think a hazard lowers the regions for Out He Sprang Movement.

Can you image a balrog springing out of the fire only to to jump into the chasm?
Out he sprung...into the abyss far below.

Re: Out He Sprang and No Way Forward

Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 6:30 am
by Bandobras Took
so I would think a hazard lowers the regions for Out He Sprang Movement.
The hazard that springs to mind is No Way Forward.
No Way Forward wrote:The number of region cards that may be played by a moving company using region movement is reduced by one (by two if Doors of Night is in play) to a minimum of two.
This is an effect that specifically modifies the number of regions you are allowed to play. There is no other valid way to interpret "This region allowance may not be modified by any other effects except A More Evil Hour." Out He Sprang does not care whether the effect in question is resource or hazard.

"Allowance" is not a benefit in this context; it is a permission. The rules allow your avatar to be eliminated by a body check, but that does not necessarily mean that it is in any way beneficial to do so. And there is no rule, so far as I am aware, that states that hazards automatically have superiority over resources. Hazards that do so tend to have such things listed within the card text itself (e.g. Fool's Bane with its "all cases" clause, Foul Tooth Unsheathed).