If a card says "character faces an attack", can that attack be modified by resources that modify an attack against his company?
Can others in his company tap to support?
Is there a difference between e.g. Forgotten Scrolls: "bearer faces an attack", and The Hunt: "...as though he were a one-character company."?
Attack vs. 1 character and modifications vs. company
- Thorsten the Traveller
- Ex Council Chairman
- Posts: 1766
- Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
- Location: Tilburg, Netherlands
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
I think that "a character faces an attack" is compact form of "an attack is made against a company and that character will be assigned to strike".
Slayer's text says that its attack is "against the same character", but also "Attacker chooses defending character".
If the attacks actually would be faced only by the character (and not by its company), then choosing a one defending character (from one eligible) would not make a much of sense. "against the same character" here just prevents other characters from being assigned to a strike(s) from the second attack.
Slayer's text says that its attack is "against the same character", but also "Attacker chooses defending character".
If the attacks actually would be faced only by the character (and not by its company), then choosing a one defending character (from one eligible) would not make a much of sense. "against the same character" here just prevents other characters from being assigned to a strike(s) from the second attack.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
- Thorsten the Traveller
- Ex Council Chairman
- Posts: 1766
- Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
- Location: Tilburg, Netherlands
Ok I can follow that, though Slayer of course is METW and before cards like Forgotten Scrolls.
But the formulation of The Hunt, "as though he were a one character company," that does suggests other characters cannot use their Black Arrows etc, right? CRF states a Noble Hound controlled by Alatar cannot face a strike, but this is about modifying the strike/attack.
But the formulation of The Hunt, "as though he were a one character company," that does suggests other characters cannot use their Black Arrows etc, right? CRF states a Noble Hound controlled by Alatar cannot face a strike, but this is about modifying the strike/attack.
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
What I was trying to say is that "a character faces an attack", or "attack against a character" do not have any other meaning than "strikes from the attack may be assigned only to that character".
Both The Hunt and Forgotten Scrolls say who faces an attack (Alatar, bearer), but only The Hunt states "as though he were a one character company,".
Both The Hunt and Forgotten Scrolls say who faces an attack (Alatar, bearer), but only The Hunt states "as though he were a one character company,".
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.