We Have Come to Kill: target?

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
User avatar
the Jabberwock
Council Chairman
Posts: 902
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Re: We Have Come to Kill: target?

Post by the Jabberwock » Sat May 05, 2018 2:54 am

kober wrote:
Sat May 05, 2018 1:14 am
During site phase, may WHCtK/ACM be played just after AA and before playing a normally-playable item at a site?
Yes it may. See this post.... viewtopic.php?f=143&t=3327&p=27248#p27227

Jose-san
Council Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 2:22 pm
Location: Valencia, Spain

Re: We Have Come to Kill: target?

Post by Jose-san » Sat May 05, 2018 10:12 pm

Konrad Klar wrote:
Sun Sep 17, 2017 7:48 pm
Shapeshifter wrote:
Sun Sep 17, 2017 7:24 pm
Konrad Klar wrote:
Sun Sep 17, 2017 3:14 pm
Still it does not explain why "site with no auto-attack" is mentioned.
I would say that the answer in RD #69 only mentions sites with no auto-attack because the question was about them. The question seems to refer to a previous discussion that was not published in RD #69, though. Here is the whole quote:
Rulings Digest #69 wrote:If you can do it at a site with no auto-attack during the site phase that has no company, why couldn't you do it during the org?
*** You can't use We Have Come to Kill at a site with no auto-attack during the site phase at a site that has no company.
Summing up: WHCTK cannot be used to bring in a character at a site that is not in play.
OK. It at least explains why "site with no auto-attack" was specifically mentioned (because someone specifically said that at "site with no auto-attack" this is possible, not necessarily because this is possible at sites with AA in opinion of answering person).

Now my opinion: if bringing a character in play at site X would be the action that requires the site X as a target, then a player that lose all companies would have a hard times bringing any character in play.
Speculation: maybe playing WHCtK at a site with AA, where there's no company, during the site phase was already ruled out. Or maybe it was thought obvious because you can't do anything during the site phase at a site if you don't face the AA first, and only the case in which there is no AA needed a ruling.

User avatar
the Jabberwock
Council Chairman
Posts: 902
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Re: We Have Come to Kill: target?

Post by the Jabberwock » Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:37 am

Can WHCTK be played outside the Organization Phase if it creates a G.I. exceedance?

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: We Have Come to Kill: target?

Post by Konrad Klar » Sun Dec 09, 2018 10:05 am

We Have Come to Kill does not create GI exceedance.
To play a character in result of We Have Come to Kill there must be enough free GI, or DI.
CRF, Errata (Cards), We Have Come to Kill wrote:We Have Come to Kill may be used to bring in agents, but not Ringwraiths. You must
have enough influence to control the character to play this card.
Because a character played in result of We Have Come to Kill is not determined prior/at declaration of the card, it is impossible to fulfill the condition given in last sentence.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2681
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: We Have Come to Kill: target?

Post by Bandobras Took » Sun Dec 09, 2018 3:22 pm

It would probably be better written as "Any character played as a result of We Have Come to Kill may not exceed your available influence at the time of play. If you have no such character available to play, We Have Come to Kill may not be declared."
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: We Have Come to Kill: target?

Post by Konrad Klar » Sun Dec 09, 2018 4:08 pm

Even if you not have such character card in hand at declaration of We Have Come to Kill, potentially you may have it when We Have Come to Kill resolves.
Some DI or GI may be freed in meantime, some character card may arrive (in result of Call of Home, or Dark Tryst etc.).

EDIT: fried -> freed
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2681
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: We Have Come to Kill: target?

Post by Bandobras Took » Sun Dec 09, 2018 9:45 pm

It depends on whether they meant "play" in the sense of "declare" or in the sense of "resolve." :)
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Contact:

Re: We Have Come to Kill: target?

Post by Konrad Klar » Mon Dec 10, 2018 11:22 am

Unlike Come at Need, or Hour of Need, the card does not require (at least by its text) a having in hand a card that would be played/placed according to its result. Additionally a conditions that would allow to play such card may change between declaration and resolution of We Have Come to Kill.

It seems like to me that sometimes ICE authors are sick when they need to put a simple things straight.
The simple thing is (in my opinion): you may not play a character in result of We Have Come to Kill if there is no enough influence to control the character.
And no: you are not stopped from declaring a We Have Come to Kill, and We Have Come to Kill is not stopped from resolving for this reason. Until We Have Come to Kill resolves it is not decided which character will be played, and it is not known whether there is enough influence to control him.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
the Jabberwock
Council Chairman
Posts: 902
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Re: We Have Come to Kill: target?

Post by the Jabberwock » Tue Dec 11, 2018 5:41 am

Konrad Klar wrote:
Sun Dec 09, 2018 10:05 am
We Have Come to Kill does not create GI exceedance.
To play a character in result of We Have Come to Kill there must be enough free GI, or DI.
CRF, Errata (Cards), We Have Come to Kill wrote:We Have Come to Kill may be used to bring in agents, but not Ringwraiths. You must
have enough influence to control the character to play this card.
Because a character played in result of We Have Come to Kill is not determined prior/at declaration of the card, it is impossible to fulfill the condition given in last sentence.
The CRF entry answers my question. Odd, I thought for sure I checked the CRF prior to posting the question and somehow I missed this statement. :oops:

Thanks for posting!

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”