Page 1 of 1

Timing in End of Turn phase

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2015 6:35 pm
by Maethmaenor
Hello:

The rules say
End-of-Turn Phase
You may discard one card. Then you must draw or discard cards until your hand has 8 cards. Your opponent does the same.
In the CRF:
Cards may be played during the End-of-Turn phase after hand size has been reconciled.
1) Can be played cards before reconciling hand size, too?

2) Following situation ocurred:

Player A is at turn, beginning his end of turn phase with hand size 6. One of his companies has a character with Alone and Unadvised (hazard permanent event). Player B has hand size 9, because he took back an unused on guard card at the end of the site phase of player A.

Player A draws two cards to reconcile hand size and one of these cards is Gates of Morning. As he has The Cock Crows in his hand too, he plays Gates of Morning, then TCC and Alone and Unadvised is discarded. But player B has Twilight in his hand and unfortunatelly he had already discarded it to reconcile his hand size to 8. As player A played GoM later, player B had no time to react to this, and Twilight lays on the discard pile. What happens when both players reconcile hand size simultaneosly and the player B claim he should be warned about the possibility that player A plays GoM? Should player B allways better wait until player A is done with his actions before he reconcile hand size? Or how is this timing problem handled? Player A could delay the play of GoM until he sees that player B has reconciled hand size and then play GoM, but this is a little unfair. Maybe there is a rule about this, or not? Or maybe the advice is: hazard player better wait until player at turn has enden with actions (but how can he be sure?).
THE COCK CROWS ‐ Short‐event (U)
Cancels a Troll attack.
Alternatively, if Gates of Morning is in play, it forces the discard of one hazard permanent‐event.

Re: Timing in End of Turn phase

Posted: Fri Mar 06, 2015 3:48 am
by Bandobras Took
Reconciling hand size is simultaneous. Once that is done, card play resumes as normal. Someone who discarded a card while reconciling hand size may not take it back based on cards drawn during reconciling hand size.

You may also play cards before reconciling hand size; this is often done for greater draw.

Re: Timing in End of Turn phase

Posted: Fri Mar 06, 2015 4:12 pm
by Maethmaenor
OK. That means that the hazard player -if he has a Twilight- should be simply alert. But it is important that both players reconcile simultaneosly.