Items and body modifications

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Thorsten the Traveller
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 1766
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

Quick question; does the body modification provided by an item take precedence over those provided by events (hazard or resource) and/or provided by the character's status, when calculating the body for a body check?

example: Thorin (unwounded) bears a Hauberk, plays Risky Blow, and fails against the strike. Is his body for the bc 8 (8+1-1) or 9 (8-1+2)?
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Sorry, but answer will not be quick.
CRF, Turn Sequence, Combat, Strike Sequence wrote:Non-item prowess bonuses are applied in the order the player controlling the
character decides.
but
Lidless Eye, Starter Rules, Combat, The Strike Sequence wrote: Clarification: The prowess modifier and maximum for a weapon is applied to a character before any other modifiers are applied. For example, the Lieutenant of Dol Guldur has a base prowess of 7 and a Broad-headed Spear (+2 prowess to a maximum of 8) he starts with a prowess of 8 before any other modifiers are applied.

Similarly, the body modifier and maximum for a shield, armor, or helmet is applied before any other modifiers are applied.
The two statements are not contradicting if taken literally. The two statements together just do not tell what to do with a bonuses to body from items other than a shield, armor, or helmet (who decides about order in which they are applied).

Anyway such bonuses do not exist in your example.
Final body of Thorin will be 8 (normal 8, + 2 to maximum 9 for Hauberk of Bright Mail, - 1 for Risky Blow).
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Thorsten the Traveller
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 1766
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Tilburg, Netherlands

Thanks Konrad for the insightful answer, and still pretty quick (in the sense of short), certainly by your standards :-)

So a Valiant Sword's prowess bonus must be applied first, but its bonus to body need not, though the "similarly" in the quote might suggest otherwise, of course we must stick to the facts, and the ways of meccg are mysterious...
Stone-age did not end because man ran out of rocks.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”