Curiosity: Icy Touch

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Icy Touch wrote:The prowess of one Undead attack is modified by +1. Corruption. The next character wounded by the attack (on whom a corruption card has not already been played this turn) receives 2 corruption points (place this card with the character). Discard Icy Touch if it is not played with a character. During the organization phase, a character with this card may tap and attempt to remove it. Make a roll (or draw a #): if this result is greater than 6, discard this card.
How this card would work without "(on whom a corruption card has not already been played this turn)"?
My first impression was the card could potentially fizzle, if next character wounded by the attack is character on whom a corruption card has been played this turn (due to MELE: Only one corruption card (a hazard that gives corruption points) may be played on a given character each turn).

But it was the wrong impression. Icy Touch is not played on character, likewise Helm of Her Secrecy is not played on Éowyn. Both cards are placed on character, if certain conditions are met.
So while Icy Touch cannot be placed on character on whom a corruption card has been played this turn, another corruption card may be played on character on whom Icy Touch has been placed this turn.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Good point. :)
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
dirhaval
Posts: 802
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 5:39 am

Icy Touch wrote:
The prowess of one Undead attack is modified by +1. Corruption. The next character wounded by the attack (on whom a corruption card has not already been played this turn) receives 2 corruption points (place this card with the character). Discard Icy Touch if it is not played with a character. During the organization phase, a character with this card may tap and attempt to remove it. Make a roll (or draw a #): if this result is greater than 6, discard this card.
Does the bold text now make it impossible to play a corruption hazard later the same turn Icy Touch is attached to the character?
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

"Played with a character" is not equal to "played on a character",
A hazard player usually does not play a characters, nor introduce them into play along with playing a hazard (known exception is Ride Against the Enemy). Certainly he does not introduce a character with Icy Touch.
Literally "played with a character" does not make a sense, like "Three attacks (of one strike each) against the same characters." in text of Assassin does not make a sense. Latter would literally mean that attacks are against a character, not against company.

Interpretations based on rest of text of cards are:
- for Assassin (and Slayer): "attacks against the same character" is compact form of "attacks against a company and all strikes will be assigned to the same character."
- for Icy Touch: "played with a character" is compact form of "played and then placed on character".
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”