Page 1 of 1
Ruse/Sojourn an automatic attack
Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2015 4:22 pm
by panotxa
Hi! I'm going nuts trying to find an answer to this one:
May I use Ruse (scout's ability) or Sojourn in shadows to save my lonely shadowmage's ass against an AA?
I've found decks based on this trick but I can find info that contradicts that too...
Help me please :_(
Re: Ruse/Sojourn an automatic attack
Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2015 4:41 pm
by Konrad Klar
Since Mon Oct 15, 2012 5:46 pm it is officially considered legal.
http://www.councilofelrond.org/forum/vi ... 976#p17491
Using the Ruse's scout only effect is even mentioned as example of action affected by erreata.
Example 2:
Fallen-Gandalf is by himself at the Lonely Mountain. The player has Ruse and Wizard's Staff in hand.
Before: Ruse may only be used to cancel the automatic-attack, tapping Gandalf, so he cannot play the item.
After: Gandalf may use Ruse's scout only effect, so the strike cannot be assigned and Gandalf slips past the automatic-attack untapped to play Wizard’s Staff.
Re: Ruse/Sojourn an automatic attack
Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2015 5:06 pm
by panotxa
Thanks Konrad

))
Re: Ruse/Sojourn an automatic attack
Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:31 pm
by dirhaval
I began rereading the PDF files here last night.
In the Card Errata and Rulings - CRF MECCG
There is another PDF posted in the same topic I reread often too - ME Universal Rules Document
Ruse
If Ruse is played by a scout who is the only character in the company, the attack has no
effect. If there is a creature card it is discarded. The attack is considered faced but not
canceled.
Re: Ruse/Sojourn an automatic attack
Posted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 5:52 am
by panotxa
Yes dirhaval, I use it too but the use of Ruse to "cancel" an automatic attack was not allowed until Oct 2012, only normal attacks. I think this wasn't in the pdfs you just mentioned.