Miscellanoous points cards

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Mordakai
Council Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:38 am

I noticed that the wording of several cards, similar in mechanichs, are not the same.

Before MEBA (i may have missed some):
- Rescue prisioners
- Seize Prisioners
- Burning Rick, Cot and Tree
- Smoke in the Wind
and on the other side all the ones from MEBA set:
- Breach the Hold
- Invade their domain
- Lord and Usurper
- People Diminished
- Roots of the earth

The thing is that all this cards force you to face some attack(s) and after them tap a character to get your reward. In all the previous sets to the Balrog, the wording says some thing like "if no characters are untapped after the attack(s), discard this card. Otherwise, tap ... blablabla"

But all the MEBA cards says something like "Following the attack(s), tap a character or discard this card".

My question is: can I play "Angband Revisited" (or any other untapping effect) after all the attacks from MEBA cards to then tap the character and get the card? Because in all the previous ones, I think I can't, someone has to end the last attack untapped (as I understand the wording of this cards) but "Following the attack" seems more permisive to me...

Ideas?
C'mon, not the Elves of Lindon AGAIN...
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

MEBA Rules wrote:Cards With Multiple Actions

If a card specifies that more than one action occurs when the card is itself resolved in a chain of effects, all of these actions are to be resolved in the card's chain of effects uninterrupted and in the order listed on the card. No actions may be declared to occur between these multiple actions. The actions listed on the card are considered to have been declared in the reverse order as they are printed. As an exception, in one of the effects of a card is an attack, cards may be played that cancel the attack, cancel one of the strikes, or that otherwise are playable during the strike sequence.
Afraid not; playing Angband Revisited would be declaring a new action during the resolution of the card. You could potentially play Angband Revisited while facing one of the attacks, but could not do it in the interval between facing the attacks and the action you must take following the attack -- there is, by rule, no interval.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Mordakai
Council Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:38 am

You are correct, I read it long ago but I fotgot it when i thought about these cards. For the Balrog it does not make any difference, as he has -1 to prowess instead of -3 when he faces a strike untapped (the same as if tapped), but not for his characters...

The thing that seemed strange to me was the difference in the wording of the cards, but the effect is the same after all...

Thanks, mate.
C'mon, not the Elves of Lindon AGAIN...
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”