Direct influence modifiers vs characters and factions

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
User avatar
Mordakai
Council Member
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:38 am

Ok, so a lot of characters have modifiers vs some kind of characters and also factions, all written in the same sentence. Examples:

Thrain: +3 [-me_di-] vs Dwarves and Dwarf Factions
Galdor: +1 [-me_di-] vs Elves and Elf Factions

Now the doubt: If I have that bonus already in use by a follower (let's say Balin is under Thráin 2 [-me_di-] +3 against Dwarves), do I still have +3 [-me_di-] against Dwarf Factions?

I would say yes, the bonus is still available, because of the wording XXX and XXX factions (and not XXX or XXX factions, but someone told me today that is not correct...
C'mon, not the Elves of Lindon AGAIN...
dirhaval
Posts: 802
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 5:39 am

First, I am not the best at answering questions.

Second, I take into consideration I have been playing a concept wrong for 20 years.

Third, I am looking at now the CRF in the Universal Rules Document and the MELE rules book.
If I need any sleep, then I can read the annotations in METW Card Compendium with the Star-glass cover.

I have always played that the bonus is shared between characters and factions.
I think that a character's direct influence is fundamentally used for followers per the rules.
But influence checks apply unused direct influence. Such a text are restrictive direct influence.

Playing the rules lawyer has the following results:
1. such text are void since there is nothing that is both dwarves and dwarf faction.
or
2. bonus to characters is void since there is no character that is a dwarves.
or

ICE did try to make things clear like with "Traitor" but it fizzles on its own. ICE could of just
stated "+3 vs. Dwarf characters" which is similar to have zero direct influence in the icon and
we will know that this bonus is for characters and/or factions since the normal DI is for characters.
I think technically the card should read " against Dwarf characters and Dwarf faction influence checks."

Just my thoughts. But I play that such text is just adding to the normal DI but restrictive.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4493
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

What could convince you?
Explicit text in rules that says: Dwarf Factions are not Dwarves, Elf Factions are not Elves, Hobbit Factions are not Hobbits... ?
Or that factions, characters, creatures of given race are not subcategories of the race?
No such texts in rules.
CRF, Turn Sequence, Organization Phase, Followers wrote:A character cannot use a bonus to direct influence against "Blue Mountain Dwarves"
to control characters with the home site Blue Mountain Dwarf-hold. The bonus only
applies to the faction.
Bonuses to direct influence against characters apply only once, not for each character.
You have right to say that it does not apply here. Blue Mountain Dwarves is not race, but proper noun.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4493
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

dirhaval wrote:ICE did try to make things clear like with "Traitor" but it fizzles on its own. ICE could of just
stated "+3 vs. Dwarf characters" which is similar to have zero direct influence in the icon and
we will know that this bonus is for characters and/or factions since the normal DI is for characters.
...since the normal DI is for characters...
CRF, Rulings by Term, Influence wrote:Restricted direct influence is limited in its use, usually to characters and/or factions of
specific races. Unrestricted influence has no use restrictions.
Thorin II has normal +6 DI against Blue Mountain Dwarves, has normal +4 DI against other Dwarf Factions, has normal +4 DI against Dwarves (Dwarf characters?), has normal +2 DI against anything else.
CRF, Rulings by Term, Normal wrote:Normal means as written on the card, not considering other card's effects. Note that
this definition only applies to effects refering to card texts.
Webs of Fear & Treachery wrote:Except for unused general influence and unused normal direct influence (including influence modifications given in a character's card text), all modifications to each influence attempt are reduced to zero. 'For Boromir was loyal to me and no wizard's pupil. He would have remembered his father's need...'-LotRI
Underline mine.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

MELE Rules wrote:Example: During your site phase, you have Lieutenant of Morgul in play a company at Lossadan Cairn. You also have Ice-orcs in your hand, and your opponent has Wargs of Forochel in play. Lieutenant of Morgul has no followers, so his unused direct influence is 2.
You tap Lieutenant of Morgul to attempt to bring the Ice-orcs into play. You make your influence check roll (2D6), and the result is 5. This roll is modified by:
· Lieutenant of Morgul's unused direct influence: +2.
· +3 - Lieutenant of Morgul has a special ability: his direct influence is increased by +3 against Orc factions.
· A standard modification of +2, because the Wargs of Forochel are already in play, as listed on the Ice-orcs card.
So the modified result is 11 (=5+2+3+1). Since this is greater than 10 (the number required by the faction card), the Ice-orcs are successfully brought into play and the site taps.
If you had rolled a 3, your modified result would have been 9 (=3+2+2+1), and you would have had to discard the faction card and Lossadan Cairn would not have tapped.
This is not set in stone, but the example says nothing about the DI being increased vs. characters. This would suggest that ICE intended these as separate bonuses rather than as a pool which must be divided between characters and factions.

(Shameless plug: the rewrite clarifies the issue completely. :) )
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4493
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Someone is innumerate, ICE-Orcs, or me.

Roll: 5
Unrestricted DI: +2
DI against Orc Factions: +3
Standard Modifications: +2

According to me, modified result is +12.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Mordakai
Council Member
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:38 am

So... as I understand, if Thráin II controls Balin, he still have +3 vs Dwarven factions?

Sorry, but I'm not native English speaker, and sometimes I get lost in such lawyer rules interpretations...
C'mon, not the Elves of Lindon AGAIN...
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Mordakai wrote:So... as I understand, if Thráin II controls Balin, he still have +3 vs Dwarven factions?

Sorry, but I'm not native English speaker, and sometimes I get lost in such lawyer rules interpretations...
The question is whether those who wrote the rules were actually native English speakers. :)

My vote is for yes, but the question is open to debate.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Mordakai
Council Member
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:38 am

I think they wrote +X vs XXX and XXX just to avoid writing "+X vs XXX" and in the next row "+X vx XXX", just a matter of using less words to tell the same thing.

AFAIK, "I'm idiot AND stupid" is the same thing as "I'm idiot" and "I'm stupid", just using less ink...
C'mon, not the Elves of Lindon AGAIN...
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4493
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

:oops:
Seems like I did not understand the question before. I thought that question was: whether +3 DI against Dwarves is cumulative with +3 DI against Dwarf Factions (while influencing a Dwarf Factions).
If question is whether "+3 [-me_di-] vs Dwarves and Dwarf Factions" is a one bonus with dual use, or two separate bonuses. my answer is: this is a one bonus with dual use.
There is no "saving an ink" convention in case of other cards that enumerate multiple modifiers of the same value to the same stat or roll.
Bûthrakaur wrote:Unique. Balrog specific. Leader. Manifestation of Bûthrakaur the Green. Discard on a body check result of 9. +3 direct influence against Trolls, Orcs, Troll factions, and Orc factions. +3 direct influence against Balrog specific characters. A huge arm and shoulder, with a dark skin of greenish scales, was thrust through the widening gap.-LotRII Home Site: Moria, The Under-gates
Song of the Lady wrote:At the end of the organization phase, each company at Lórien that wishes to move must (or draw a #). This roll is modified by: -1 if company contains any Men, -1 I company contains any Hobbits, +2 if company contains any Dwarves. If the result is less than 7, the company may not move this turn. '...Rich are the hours, though short they seem, in Caras Galadon...'-LotRII
Also there is no "saving an ink" convention in cases of faction cards that enumerate multiple Standard Modifications of the same value and in cases of Under-Deeps site cards - adjacent sites are listed separately, even if moving to the sites requires a modified roll of the same value.

[Lawyer Mode]
Example: During your site phase, you have Lieutenant of Morgul in play a company at Lossadan Cairn. You also have Ice-orcs in your hand, and your opponent has Wargs of Forochel in play. Lieutenant of Morgul has no followers, so his unused direct influence is 2.
You tap Lieutenant of Morgul to attempt to bring the Ice-orcs into play. You make your influence check roll (2D6), and the result is 5. This roll is modified by:
· Lieutenant of Morgul's unused direct influence: +2.
· +3 - Lieutenant of Morgul has a special ability: his direct influence is increased by +3 against Orc factions.
· A standard modification of +2, because the Wargs of Forochel are already in play, as listed on the Ice-orcs card.
So the modified result is 11 (=5+2+3+1). Since this is greater than 10 (the number required by the faction card), the Ice-orcs are successfully brought into play and the site taps.
If you had rolled a 3, your modified result would have been 9 (=3+2+2+1), and you would have had to discard the faction card and Lossadan Cairn would not have tapped.
It has been proven that witness of a defence is innumerate. Therefore his statement cannot be treated by court as opinion of expert. Additionally what he says is not unambiguous. As the defence admits "This is not set in stone,..".[/Lawyer Mode]
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Mordakai
Council Member
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:38 am

It's a shame the example does not include a 3 minder Orc or Troll, that would be nice to fix the answer once and for all.

On the other hand, maybe you are right, it would be quite broken if Bûthrakaur could control a 3 mind Orc, a 3 mind troll, a 3 mind Balrog Specific character and still keep his bonus vs orc and troll factions...
C'mon, not the Elves of Lindon AGAIN...
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4493
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Mordakai wrote: On the other hand, maybe you are right, it would be quite broken if Bûthrakaur could control a 3 mind Orc, a 3 mind troll, a 3 mind Balrog Specific character and still keep his bonus vs orc and troll factions...
To be clear: I think that Bûthrakaur can control 3 mind Balrog Specific character and still have 3 DI that against Trolls, or Orcs, or Troll factions, or Orc factions.
But if "saving an ink" would be a reason to list all separate + 3 DI bonuses in fashion " against Trolls, Orcs, Troll factions, and Orc factions", it is hard to explain why "+3 direct influence against Balrog specific characters" deserves on separate sentence. Then it should be rather "+3 direct influence against Trolls, Orcs, Balrog specific characters, Troll factions, and Orc factions".
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Konrad Klar wrote::oops:
Seems like I did not understand the question before. I thought that question was: whether +3 DI against Dwarves is cumulative with +3 DI against Dwarf Factions (while influencing a Dwarf Factions).
If question is whether "+3 [-me_di-] vs Dwarves and Dwarf Factions" is a one bonus with dual use, or two separate bonuses. my answer is: this is a one bonus with dual use.
There is no "saving an ink" convention in case of other cards that enumerate multiple modifiers of the same value to the same stat or roll.
Bûthrakaur wrote:Unique. Balrog specific. Leader. Manifestation of Bûthrakaur the Green. Discard on a body check result of 9. +3 direct influence against Trolls, Orcs, Troll factions, and Orc factions. +3 direct influence against Balrog specific characters. A huge arm and shoulder, with a dark skin of greenish scales, was thrust through the widening gap.-LotRII Home Site: Moria, The Under-gates
Song of the Lady wrote:At the end of the organization phase, each company at Lórien that wishes to move must (or draw a #). This roll is modified by: -1 if company contains any Men, -1 I company contains any Hobbits, +2 if company contains any Dwarves. If the result is less than 7, the company may not move this turn. '...Rich are the hours, though short they seem, in Caras Galadon...'-LotRII
Also there is no "saving an ink" convention in cases of faction cards that enumerate multiple Standard Modifications of the same value and in cases of Under-Deeps site cards - adjacent sites are listed separately, even if moving to the sites requires a modified roll of the same value.
Hmm . . .
Uruk-Hai wrote:Standard Modifications: Any other Orc Faction (-2; applied only once).
This suggests that without the clarification of "applied only once," there would indeed be a -2 penalty for each Orc faction currently in play.
Broin wrote:+1 prowess against Orcs and Elves.
Does the strike have to be both Orc and Elf, or is there a +1 to prowess against any Orc strike and also a +1 to prowess against an Elf strike?

In the same vein, when a card says "+3 DI against Orcs, Trolls, Orc Factions, and Troll Factions", does the card in question have to be an Orc, a Troll, an Orc Faction, and a Troll Faction? Or does it actually mean "+3 DI against Orcs and also Trolls and also Orc Factions and also Troll Factions?

What is certainly guaranteed is that it cannot be read as "+3 DI against Orcs or Trolls or Orc Factions or Troll Factions", which is how people seem to be reading it.

Bear with me for a little history:

Here's a link to a CRF from 1997, well before the Balrog set was released.

http://www2.odn.ne.jp/ring/middleearth/ ... ccgor7.htm

Note that this rule is included therein:
If there is no unrestricted influence and there are multiple instances of restricted direct influence, the player may choose which restricted direct influence the minus is applied to.
What, considering the cards that were actually released at the time, would "multiple instances of restricted direct influence" refer to? Is it unreasonable to believe each item of the list on a character card is an "instance of restricted direct influence?"

Or was ICE trying to tell people that when Gloin has an Elf-stone, he can choose whether a penalty to DI comes from his "dwarf and dwarf faction" total or his "elf and elf faction" total?

Side note: is there a difference for Hero Necklace of Girion?
Bearer receives +3 direct influence against Dwarves/Men and Dwarf/Man factions.
This does not bear the expected phrasing "Dwarves, Men, Dwarf Factions, and Man Factions" that are present on the various Lidless Eye leaders.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Konrad Klar wrote:
Mordakai wrote: On the other hand, maybe you are right, it would be quite broken if Bûthrakaur could control a 3 mind Orc, a 3 mind troll, a 3 mind Balrog Specific character and still keep his bonus vs orc and troll factions...
To be clear: I think that Bûthrakaur can control 3 mind Balrog Specific character and still have 3 DI that against Trolls, or Orcs, or Troll factions, or Orc factions.
But if "saving an ink" would be a reason to list all separate + 3 DI bonuses in fashion " against Trolls, Orcs, Troll factions, and Orc factions", it is hard to explain why "+3 direct influence against Balrog specific characters" deserves on separate sentence. Then it should be rather "+3 direct influence against Trolls, Orcs, Balrog specific characters, Troll factions, and Orc factions".
Speaking a somebody who's rewritten most of the cards in the game for a project, I offer this interpretation:

The bonus against "Orcs, Trolls, Orc Factions, and Troll Factions" was copy-pasted from Lidless Eye characters. The Balrog Specific sentence, being new, was typed in afterward. :)
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4493
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Bandobras Took wrote:What, considering the cards that were actually released at the time, would "multiple instances of restricted direct influence" refer to? Is it unreasonable to believe each item of the list on a character card is an "instance of restricted direct influence?"
Thorin II's +2 DI against Blue Mountain Dwarves and +2 DI against Dwarves and Dwarf Factions. Two instances of restricted DI. The two are listed separately, despite of having the same value.
Bandobras Took wrote:Or was ICE trying to tell people that when Gloin has an Elf-stone, he can choose whether a penalty to DI comes from his "dwarf and dwarf faction" total or his "elf and elf faction" total?
Possibly too.
Bandobras Took wrote:Does the strike have to be both Orc and Elf, or is there a +1 to prowess against any Orc strike and also a +1 to prowess against an Elf strike?
Third possibility is that it is a single +1 to prowess bonus that can be used against Orcs, or against Elves.
Requiring the strike to be both Orc and Elf is like requiring an entity to be both Dwarves and Dwarf Factions. Neither is idea that I've suggested.
Bandobras Took wrote:In the same vein, when a card says "+3 DI against Orcs, Trolls, Orc Factions, and Troll Factions", does the card in question have to be an Orc, a Troll, an Orc Faction, and a Troll Faction? Or does it actually mean "+3 DI against Orcs and also Trolls and also Orc Factions and also Troll Factions?
In the same vein the entity in question have to be an Orc, or Troll, or Orc Faction, or Troll Faction, but Bûthrakaur does not have a four instances of restricted DI, but one of four different uses.

Unlike DI, a prowess is not something that could be consumed, so whether Broin has:
- single +1 to prowess bonus that can be used against Orcs, or against Elves, or
- two +1 to prowess bonuses, one against Orcs, other against Elves

would reveal as problem in case of facing strike from attack of type Orcs. Elves.
Bandobras Took wrote:
Uruk-Hai wrote:Standard Modifications: Any other Orc Faction (-2; applied only once).
This suggests that without the clarification of "applied only once," there would indeed be a -2 penalty for each Orc faction currently in play.
Right. But what does it prove or disprove? If it would be intended as -2 penalty for each other Orc faction currently in play, how it would be written?
Any other Orc Faction (-2) [repeat it as many times as many are other Orc factions currently in play -1]
?
Bandobras Took wrote:Side note: is there a difference for Hero Necklace of Girion?
No. One instance of restricted DI with many uses.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”