Page 1 of 1

Sauron/Lidless Eye - reducing hazard limit

Posted: Fri Oct 28, 2016 9:09 am
by Muad'Dib
Can i reduce hazard limit during untap's phase when when opponent is playing Sauron/Lidless Eye?

Re: Sauron/Lidless Eye - reducing hazard limit

Posted: Fri Oct 28, 2016 10:45 am
by Konrad Klar
CRF, Rulings by Term wrote:You may access your sideboard when your opponent plays The Lidless Eye as if he
had revealed his Ringwraith.
The rule does not check whether the opponent is Sauron, it checks whether he plays The Lidless Eye.

Re: Sauron/Lidless Eye - reducing hazard limit

Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2022 4:33 am
by CDavis7M
Muad'Dib wrote: Fri Oct 28, 2016 9:09 am Can i reduce hazard limit during untap's phase when when opponent is playing Sauron/Lidless Eye?
Yes.

----------
Konrad Klar wrote: Fri Oct 28, 2016 10:45 am
CRF, Rulings by Term wrote:You may access your sideboard when your opponent plays The Lidless Eye as if he
had revealed his Ringwraith.
The rule does not check whether the opponent is Sauron, it checks whether he plays The Lidless Eye.
That's a clarification, but yes, it doesn't specify Sauron. Still, there is an ICE rule (not clarification or ruling) beyond the CRF:

Accessing Hazards in Sideboard-A player can access hazard cards in his or her sideboard when the opponent's Wizard or Ringwraith is in play-or if the opponent is Sauron. A player must do this at the end of the opponent's untap phase. Specifically, the player may either bring up to 5 hazard cards from the sideboard into the discard pile, or 1 hazard card from the sideboard into the play deck and shuffle (if at least 5 cards are in the play deck). In either case, the hazard limit against all of the opponent's companies this turn is halved, rounded up.


... back to tracking...

Re: Sauron/Lidless Eye - reducing hazard limit

Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2022 7:29 am
by Konrad Klar
I think that that was the idea behind the CRF entry.

Effect is CRF rule/ruling that does not address an issue precisely. Sometimes reflects the idea, sometimes not.
Does not reflect if player has Sauron card in play. Or if there is (hypothetical) effect in play that says that text of The Lidless Eye is ignored.